Shutter Dial and Aperture Ring do nothing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 25th, 2009, 11:10 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
Shutter Dial and Aperture Ring do nothing

I pulled out my camera tonight to test another problem I wrote about a few months ago and found that I cannot set the shutter or Aperture in any mode.

The shutter is "set" to 1/30 and the aperture is set to F1.0. So in Manual mode I see both those settings. In TV mode is show 1/30 and in AV mode F1.0 and in all three modes neither dial does anything.

I read in the forum that this happened to some one last year and Canon "fixed" it but didn't know what caused it.

Anyone have any more information on this before I send my camera to Canon?

BTW - It is not the exposure lock, per se, I have checked it several times. There is no E. Lock on the screen, in fact nothing seems to happen when I press the E.Lock button. So that may be messed up too.
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 11:19 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Howard.........

Try pressing the "reset" button (with a toothpick or similar) located under the LCD screen recess, forwards of the speaker, sounds like it may have had a cardiac arrest.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 11:36 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
Chris,

I did thee reset, had to remove the battery first, then pressed the button.

Put the battery back in and all the information displayed was in Japanese.

I figured how to get it back in English, then tried the shutter and aperture again.

Darn, still the same problem.

I'll try the XL-XH series owner's club hotline tomorrow.

Howard
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 12:26 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Bugger.......

Well, it was worth a shot.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 07:56 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
Yes it was. Thanks.

Howard
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 08:06 AM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Irvine there in Orange Co. will be your nearest service center. Good luck and let us know how it goes,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 11:41 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
I got an email from Canon Service tonight. They want $267 to fix it, but didn't say what "it" was.

I will call them in the morning to find out what "it" is and see if I can get them to lower the price too.

Howard
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 07:36 AM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
That's the standard charge for breaking open the camera, diagnosing whatever the problem is, and fixing it. I don't think the price is negotiable.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 08:16 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
Thanks Chris, that makes me feel a little better, though there is supposed to be a 10% discount for members of the XH club. So I will ask for that.

Update 9:01 AM
Just got off the phone with them. Yeah, that is just the base fee for opening it up. They haven't even looked at it yet to find out what is wrong.

Howard

Last edited by Howard Wilczynski; January 28th, 2009 at 11:21 AM.
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 12:41 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 99
Howard, just wondering if you have a after market warranty, like Mac or SageMax Protection Plan. I have the 4 year Pro Video Mac warranty, I have never used it, and hope it's not ever needed. Please keep us informed of the fix and total cost.
Rob
__________________
Canon XHA1, Canon T2i, FinalCut 3 , MacBook Pro 2.4Gz, FireStore FSC-60, DP1X Monitor
Rob Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
Got the camera back today. It was nice to have a 4 day turn around. It helps that I am one shipping day from the repair center.

Good News: The camera is working correctly again.

Bad News is: They have no idea what was wrong. This is what they said (this is exact wording):

"We have examined thee product according to your request, and, upon close inspection the exact cause could not be identified but it was found that causing incorrect exposure. Electrical adjustments were carried out on the pcb assembly... update firmware-> 1.0.2.0"

I called to see if I could get any more specifics and though they were very nice, he could not tell me what was wrong, just that the benched the camera to factory specs.

This doesn't give me any "warm fuzzies" that it will not happen again.
I do have a 90 warranty.

Howard
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2009, 04:09 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
I thought I would post a little update. Now this is real scary.

The Canon rep called me back and said he spoke to the technician that fixed my camera. He said, they are only speculating, but even though the camera should be protected enough, it is in the realm of possibilities that the cause was "static electricity".

I then told him, I put the camera away in it's bag just after finishing capturing on my Mac and don't remember a shock of any size.

BTW - I thought that was great that he did try and find out more information for me.
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 10:14 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Static electricity can be very powerful and confuse electronics pretty easily. My old Palm pilot lost the ability to sync due to static electricity and required a complete reboot after draining the battery to reset the electronics. As to whether your problem was due to static it is very hard to say unless you can duplicate the issue. Try and find out what process they used to clear up the issue. Did it clear up after they installed the firmware update? Or after they made the adjustments on the board? It may be a one time thing but they might have interrupted the circuit which was causing the issue long enough for it to reset. Or the firmware update fixed some instruction which was damaged somehow and now the camera is starting correctly. Time will tell. It may be worth having a copy of the firmware update around so if the camera goes through this again you can reinstall the firmware and see if that clears it up if it happens again. HTH
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 10:51 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lancs, England
Posts: 48
Is a firmware update something that we can do ourselves (if necessary!) .. are there any instructions on how to do it, is there an updated (or original) Pal (UK) firmware available for download ? - I've not seen one on Canons site.
Brian Pratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 12:14 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 71
I asked about the firmware update and he said unlike still cameras, Canon keeps firmware much closer to the vest for camcorders because they are more worried that the average user will mess up the camera.

I will call him on Monday and asked which proceedure cleared the problem and if that is something that could be duplicated at home.
Howard Wilczynski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network