Canon XH A1 scene split problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 7th, 2009, 04:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canary Islands
Posts: 54
Canon XH A1 scene split problem

Hi all,

I use my Canon HV30 native files with Sony Vegas Video 8.0 c with no problems with automatic scene splinting, but with my Canon XH A1 it does not work, and all I get is a long m2t file. I donīt really know what is happening here or if there is any issue in this sense.

Any help from you would be very welcomed.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Canon XH A1; Canon HV30; Nikon D300; Nikon D200; Sony Vegas Pro
http://www.juanparmenides.com
Juan Parmenides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2009, 06:11 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Juan..............

Dive into your A1 menu and go to [Signal Setup].

Select the [Time Code] submenu, then [Count-Up].

What is it set for?

Vegas uses Time Code breaks to detect scene changes.

From my reading of the A1 manual, a setting of [Rec Run} only runs the time code clock when the camera is actually recording. This seems to infer that doing a Rec - Stop - Rec sequence doesn't force a time code break, as if recording stops, so does the time code clock.

Thus, by inference, to force a time code break you need a setting of [Free Run].

A subsequent Rec - Stop - Rec operation will create a distinct time code break, as the clock will have been running during the "Stop".

That's my story and I'm sticking to it.


CS

Last edited by Chris Soucy; February 7th, 2009 at 06:12 PM. Reason: Whoops.
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2009, 07:21 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Scene change detection is based on time of day, not timecode. If the camera's date/time is not set properly, that could cause a problem with the scene detection.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2009, 08:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
I think Chris has lost it. :D Listen to Richard

Last edited by Bill Busby; February 7th, 2009 at 09:50 PM.
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 07:44 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canary Islands
Posts: 54
Wow, wonderful people, thanks. I īve never set the date (mea culpa) in the XH A1. Once I have done this, the scene split issue is fixed.
And.... is it worthwhile to spend HD tapes if I use a tape only once? I have made a test comparing two tapes , a normal vs an HD tape, and the quality, at least for me is the same.
I have used a Samung LCD TV full HD 1080 and I have not seen any difference.

Thanks again.
__________________
Canon XH A1; Canon HV30; Nikon D300; Nikon D200; Sony Vegas Pro
http://www.juanparmenides.com
Juan Parmenides is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network