LCD Display at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2009, 07:33 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
LCD Display

Do any of you know if you can change the LCD to display the full frame being recorder like the All Scan mode on the Sony Cam's? I find it really annoying having to slightly crop a shot due to something being the frame that I couldn't see on either the EVF or the LCD.

Cheers

Jon
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 11:38 AM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
It is what it is. There's no underscan, unfortunately.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 12:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
Same way with my 50D. I used to zoom in to get certain objects just out of the frame...then after taking the photo I see that I got a little more than excpected. I suppose the live view would fix that...but as for the XH-A1...

even though the OP question has been answered...I was wondering what is the reason for this?

JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 02:27 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
Thanks guys.
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 02:40 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
What I did when I first got the camera was set it up, full wide angle and focused on some tiles about 10 feet away, with a cable going out to a monitor with underscan. Then I could see exactly how much was being cropped. Fortunately it's not as much as you might think, but enough so you could have a shotgun mic dipping into the shot if the soundman is careless. I don't why Canon cameras have always avoided accurate monitoring. Doesn't seem all that difficult.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2009, 02:18 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
I know it seams like such a basic function and is very frustrating for exactly that reason. I do love my A1 but I do find the LCD very average and even the evf isn't great. I reckon this would have been a serious deal breaker if they had upgraded these on the A1s.
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network