XH A1 HDV in a 720p Timeline? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2009, 06:13 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 253
XH A1 HDV in a 720p Timeline?

Anyone been able to do this successfully without an external capture card. I was toying with the notion of doing a 2 camera shoot with a 720p cam. Any examples up to check out?
__________________
Jon Bufkin
focalpointcinematic.com
Jonathan Bufkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 08:12 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
Look into gearshift by VASST if using Vegas. They have a 14 day trial version. I believe it will convert the footage to 720p. I am just downloaded the trial version this weekend....not an expert, but I think it will do it.

There is a recent thread with the link....in the Vegas forum.
Michael Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 08:19 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 253
Hey Michael,

Thanks for the quick response. I apologize for not clarifying but I am a Mac and Final Cut guy so I need something that works with that.
__________________
Jon Bufkin
focalpointcinematic.com
Jonathan Bufkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 08:56 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
I don't know anything about how FCP works - that being said, I use Newtek's SpeedEdit. In that NLE I can create a 720p timeline and drop the HDV video from the A1 on that. It automatically conforms to the timeline settings. An althernative, is that I can create a standard HDV timeline and render out a 720p file.

You might try that with FCP and see if that works.
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
Canon XHA1 * SGBlade 35mm adapter -RR1, RR2 w/ Optics Upgrade * DIY Mid-Format adapter
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 12:07 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
You can do the same thing in FCP.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network