XHA1 playback stutter on old DV tapes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 3rd, 2009, 01:27 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 13
XHA1 playback stutter on old DV tapes

Hey folks.

I tried doing a search but couldn't find a definitive answer on this one. I've used my XHA1 for shooting in HDV and in SD without any problems. However, I trying to use it to capture some footage I shot a few years back on the Sony DSR-250. It's just standard DV-footage - no wacky frame rates or anything. But when playing back these tapes (I've tried several) on the XHA1, the footage is all stuttery. (On the actual viewfinder.) Same thing when I capture in Final Cut. It will capture for a couple of seconds and then tell me there's a timecode break. (Which there isn't.) The couple of seconds of footage plays back in Final Cut with the audio and video having a stutter.

I thought DV footage was DV footage but does the XHA1 have problems playing back mini-DV tapes shot on other cameras? I no longer have the original camera the footage was shot on so I'm trying to figure out the best way to do this. Thanks for any insight.

Jarrod

Just a follow up, is it possible to record DVCAM format on a mini-DV tape? I always thought DVCAM was only recorded on the larger tapes but maybe I recorded in DVCAM mode on the mini-DV tape?

Last edited by Jarrod Tully; April 3rd, 2009 at 01:41 AM. Reason: Addition
Jarrod Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2009, 01:39 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
It's possible it may have been shot in DVCAM, not DV?
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2009, 01:41 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
I'm pretty sure the DSR250 didn't record in LP, but thought I'd bring it up as a possibility. It's most probably recorded in DVCAM, and that may be where the problem lies.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2009, 01:57 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 13
Upon giving this some more thought, I am almost positive that this footage WAS shot in DVCAM. Thanks for the responses guys. I've been driving myself crazy going through all of the A1's camera settings seeing why my tape wouldn't play properly. Mystery solved!
Jarrod Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2009, 12:22 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
As to the last part of your question, yes you can put DVCAM and also HDV onto miniDV tapes. As far as HDV and DVCAM are concerned, tape is tape. The more expensive tapes, such as Sony's PHDVM Digital Mastering tapes are, allegedly, better quality, but they're still DV tapes.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network