Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 15th, 2009, 06:37 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Is there a converter for XH-A1 from component to HDMI Cable ?

Is there a Converter that plug into the Canon A1 or H1 Terminal and has an HDMI Cable on the other end ? I know you will only get picture, but is there anything like that exist ?
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 07:32 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 688
Hi Michael,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Ojjeh View Post
Is there a Converter that plug into the Canon A1 or H1 Terminal and has an HDMI Cable on the other end ? I know you will only get picture, but is there anything like that exist ?
Try this:

Let me google that for you
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 07:45 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 78
There can be no such device according to HDCP law, so if you find one... call crime stoppers and collect your reward. The closest thing would probably be a switch though. But that would be like 200+ cause it is like a receiver for home theater, and prob would give u same quality anyways...

Just a link on HDCP
High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
University of Windsor student. Trying to find funds for gear...
Bradley Ouellette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 07:52 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Peregrine View Post
Hi Michael,



Try this:

Let me google that for you
I am looking to replace the Component Video Cable (DTC-1000), you would think Canon will come up with such cable, I guess not !!!
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 08:02 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,384
Re dtc-1000 cable, available many places on-line, here is one:
Canon DTC-1000 D Terminal Component Video Cable - EC7670 - 0976B001AA /Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 08:13 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Battle Vaughan View Post
Re dtc-1000 cable, available many places on-line, here is one:
Canon DTC-1000 D Terminal Component Video Cable - EC7670 - 0976B001AA /Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team
I am sorry, I was not clear, I am trying to replace the Canon DTC-1000 with the same end that pluges into the A1 and an HDMI on the other end.
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 09:45 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,576
Images: 18
Hi Michael........

There is no such thing as a Component to HDMI converter cable, simply can't be done.

If you wish to watch a tape produced with an XH A1 on a screen fitted with a HDMI port, buy a second hand HV20 or similar which does have a HDMI output and play it on that.

Works exceedingly well.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 01:26 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Can't do it with a cable, here's an adapter box:

Component Video + Digital Audio to HDMI Converter

Don't know what the quality will be like though.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 01:40 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 351
I don't know for sure, but one of these might work

There are many component video to HDMI converters, but I never tested one. The specs should be good enough. Try one of these links:Component Video + Analog Audio to HDMI Converter, or: Component Video + digital audio to HDMI Converter - HDMI 1.3b and 1080p Rated - HDMI 1.3 RATED DEVICES . Copy protection should really be no issue here, because you own that material, unless you want to copy protect it. In that case I don't think you could do it with these boxes.
Pavel Houda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 01:53 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,576
Images: 18
Er.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Ojjeh View Post
I am sorry, I was not clear, I am trying to replace the Canon DTC-1000 with the same end that pluges into the A1 and an HDMI on the other end.

Why?

Pretty basic question.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 03:42 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Soucy View Post
Why?

Pretty basic question.

CS
Pretty basic answer.
The output on the XH-A1 is an analogue component video signal with no audio.
HDMI is a digital component signal that also carries audio. You can only transform this signal with an analog to digital converter and this won't happen in a simple cable. You need some electronics to do this, like a Blackmagic Intensity Pro video card in your computer or some HD TV sets.
Don Xaliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 04:56 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Simi Valley, California
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradley Ouellette View Post
There can be no such device according to HDCP law, so if you find one... call crime stoppers and collect your reward. The closest thing would probably be a switch though. But that would be like 200+ cause it is like a receiver for home theater, and prob would give u same quality anyways...

Just a link on HDCP
High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
HDMI can use HDCP to encrypt its data, but it's not required. If I author a non-encrypted DVD and play it through a system incorporating HDMI, the signal is not encrypted.
Larry Shilkoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 08:17 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Soucy View Post
Why?

Pretty basic question.


CS
It will be nice to have a 2f HDMI cable then the 10f Canon DTC-1000 cable hooked up to a monitor on your camera.
All LCD TVs have HDMI connection on the side NO Component input, It is a pain to hook-up in the back of a TV especially when it is mounted on the wall.
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

EVS
(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network