Has anyone captured from component on xh a1 instead of hdv at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2009, 09:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 27
Has anyone captured from component on xh a1 instead of hdv

I would llike to know how much better it is to capture this way and bypass the hdv compression. I was thinking of maybe into a mxo 2 or nanoflash so i can have a way better image. Has anyone done this and if so did you notice a huge difference and what way did you go about this. I plan on doing some documentary type stuff soon and would like not to record to hdv so can maybe take it big screen or any other uses that would benifit from the better image. I thought about buying a bigger camera with bigger sensor but everything is so expsensive i gonna wait for a scarlet but still would like to start now with what i have. I have scene very amazing footage come from the a1 so i figure i could capture into the 422 that comes out of the component for even better image to work with in post and overall. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Luke Garza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2009, 10:34 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Take a look at this thread. You can judge for yourself:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/xh-series...-red-rock.html
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
Canon XHA1 * SGBlade 35mm adapter -RR1, RR2 w/ Optics Upgrade * DIY Mid-Format adapter
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 04:43 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 27
I saw what you posted and it was very impressive but there is not talk of that he preffered capturing from component over hdv since he said he used both. So looking for someone who has done both or some comparisons of both.
Luke Garza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 04:48 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
I did a live to air gig with the XHA1 and could see no change in SDI vrs going to tape.
Just want to add that this was going to live screens. I also dont know if the A1 outputs 422 through SDI.
The image looked great when I had plenty of light and struggle in low light of course. At times I had the gain up at 12db and then like all 1/3" cameras the image suffered.
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 04:10 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 396
My understanding is that the A1 does indeed give 4:2:2 colour space from the component out.
Due to it having to be tethered to a computer etc, I can only see it as being particularly advantageous if you were doing green screen work... I'm not experienced with this, but understand that the extra colour information would make for pulling cleaner keys.
This is something that I'd love to hear from someone who's actually done it - green screen work with both HDV versus component out.
There is no SDI with the A1... just the G1 and XLH1.
__________________
http://www.dmvideostuff.co.nz
Dennis Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 05:26 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 36
I am also interested in capturing component video out of the A1. There is a new device from AJA (Ki Pro) that should be able to take component or SDI and save and record straight to ProRes 422 HQ.

If this process works, we are looking at 4:2:2 10 bit from the A1 via tapeless acquisition on a portable device. The Ki Pro also has XLR inputs and should be able to capture far better audio than the compress HDV on the A1.

Sounds like a killer product if component out from an A1 is clean and uncompressed.

The AJA KI Pro is priced under $4,000, comes with a 250 gig cartridge and 2 Express Card memory slots. Delivery scheduled for June 2009. HD/SD SDI, HD Component, HDMI, 2 XLR inputs and outputs.


***
Also forgot to mention that there is a new MX02 mini priced around $450 that will handle component and HDMI though an express card adapter or PCI card.

Interesting times and options for us with component output in search of a better Codec and higher quality images.

Last edited by Hoy Quan; April 26th, 2009 at 05:55 PM. Reason: update post
Hoy Quan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 07:05 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 27
Yeah i to also looked at the mxo 2 and kipro for that exact reason. Better audio capture and better video capture. So i hope someone here can let us know how it went if they tried this or comparison of the two. I also looked at nano flash but the kipro just amazed me at nab i just wonder how heavy it would be in a shoulder mount setting. I did talk to the zacuto guys and they said they will have mock ups on their site pretty soon with many cameras.
Luke Garza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 07:37 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 36
I was looking at the Nano but the Ki Pro seems to be far more advanced for around the same relative cost. Granted there is more weight and it needs a battery but the Ki Pro does everything and AJA has an excellent track record.

If the A1 component can talk uncompressed to the Ki Pro, we have an incredible 4:2:2 10 bit I frame video + CD quality audio with this combo and no CMOS rolling shutter effects. A P2 card and audio mixer would pay for the Ki Pro.

I would also look at carrying the Ki Pro like an audio mixer in a separate bag with a battery and just run a cable up to the camera.

Component or SDI + XLR -> Ki Pro, Audio monitoring from the Ki Pro, line in back to the camera. My guess is the audio preamps on the Ki Pro would be a lot better than the stock A1.
Hoy Quan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 08:21 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 27
Yeah i agree the kipro looks much more attractive given it also captures at 10bit instead of 8 bit and why would you go line in to the camera instead of just go direct xlr into the kipro and record that way for audio instead of coming out unbalanced on the a1. I really think the kipro will add life to all of us xh a1 owners.
Luke Garza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 03:11 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoy Quan View Post
There is a new device from AJA (Ki Pro) that should be able to take component or SDI and save and record straight to ProRes 422 HQ.
Damn, I haven't seen that little beasty. That makes day to day component capture a reality.
__________________
http://www.dmvideostuff.co.nz
Dennis Murphy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network