Aspect Guide display on Component out... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2009, 01:24 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Aspect Guide display on Component out...

I finally got an external HD monitor that uses component inputs.

I have my A1 set up to display the 2.35:1 aspect guide lines on the LCD view Finder.

When I had an external monitor that used Composite inputs connected, (wth TV OUT turned on in the A1's menu) I could see all of the display information, zoom, battery, frame rate, etc. AND the 2.35:1 aspect guide lines.

Now that I am using the HD monitor that uses component inputs, I see all of the same display data EXCEPT the aspect guide lines. I have scoured the manual to see if there is any indication that this isn't available on component out or if there was something in the custom display functions that I needed to turn on but I couldn't find anything.

Any of you A1 / external monitor users out there figured out how to do this, or is this something that just doesn't work on the Component out of the A1?

Thanks!
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
Canon XHA1 * SGBlade 35mm adapter -RR1, RR2 w/ Optics Upgrade * DIY Mid-Format adapter
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2009, 10:22 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Bump......
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
Canon XHA1 * SGBlade 35mm adapter -RR1, RR2 w/ Optics Upgrade * DIY Mid-Format adapter
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 01:13 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Marcel.......

Taking a punt (as I don't use an external monitor for shooting) I'd suggest giving the DISP button a push or three and see if that changes anything.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:52 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Thanks for replying, Chris. That was one of the first things I tried.

It seems odd that if I use a composite ext. monitor, I can see the guide lines but not on a component ext. monitor. For now, I've been leaving the LCD flipped out so I can use that to make sure my framing is correct and use the large monitor for critical focus.

It must be something that is added after the HDV compression. But then why would all of the other display items be visible on the component monitor? Maybe it's just a oversight on Canon's part?
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
Canon XHA1 * SGBlade 35mm adapter -RR1, RR2 w/ Optics Upgrade * DIY Mid-Format adapter
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network