Canít get my custom preset file to open after loading from card. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 5th, 2009, 08:53 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Folsom< CA
Posts: 21
Canít get my custom preset file to open after loading from card.

On page 92 of the manual (XHA1S), I followed the instructions for: Reading a Custom Preset File from the Memory Card.

Everything goes along fine until I close the menu. Then the camera defaults back to the original settings.

Here is my path: Camera set to M
Menu / CUSTOMIZE / CUSTOM PRESET /
Card to Camera / IMPORT / (I selected a custom file)
(I can see the change on the LCD of the new custom parameter I used)
SELECT POSITION / I selected the preset number: 2 PRESET_A
EXECUTE / Confirm / EXECUTE
Close Menu

When I check back at 2 PRESET_A it is now the custom preset file name I wanted there. But once I close the menu, the camera doesnít show the change of the new preset anymore on the LCD.

Thanks for any and all help.
David B. Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:06 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi David,

Closing the menu isn't how you activate a custom preset. To activate a custom preset, press the Custom Preset On / Off and Select buttons on the bottom left side of the camera. See the top of page 92, "Activating a Custom preset," for more details. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 09:47 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Folsom< CA
Posts: 21
Thanks Chris

I feel like a total newbie. But wait! I am.

Thank you for stiring me in the right direction. Look at this response I got from Canon tech support:

'If you have already backed up any data on the memory card, then try
reformatting it in the camcorder. If the issue continues to persist,
then try resetting the camcorder by choosing the SYSTEM SETUP -> RESET
ALL options in the menu. If this doesn't resolve the issue, then the
camcorder may require servicing'.

I usually get good help from Canon so maybe he was a newbie just like me :)
David B. Sanders is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network