Max Memory Size for SD Card? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2009, 07:21 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Max Memory Size for SD Card?

My 16 gig SD card isn't recognized by my camera. I'm trying to format it to solve any issues... but the "card operations" menu isn't even showing (I did switch to card function, so I'm not trying to find this option in the mini-DV mode).

What am I doing wrong?

Tony
Tony Busto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 08:44 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
Tony,
Refer to the manual. It's in there, I just don't know it off the top of my head. I want to say it is 4 gig that has been tested with the camera. You may also want to try initializing the card and try again.
Michael Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 07:08 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Can't...

I can't even re-initialize the card because my cam won't (apparently) recognize it. Which was my original question... is there a limit to the size card the camera will tolerate?
Tony Busto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 07:34 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Tony,

I think you should try a different card. A 16GB card is wasted in a Canon XH, since it can take only 2MP still images. Use a 1GB or 2GB card instead, and put the 16GB card in a camera that can actually leverage all of its capacity.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 09:03 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
The biggest SD card is 2 GB. Anything larger falls under the category of SDHC which was developed to get us up and beyond the 2gb limit. The cards are physically the same size, but are not the same electrically inside. SDHC cards require an SDHC card slot. These slots are backwards compatible with original SD cards too....but SD slots are not compatible with SDHC cards.

Unless the A1 specifically has an SDHC logo on the box or near the card slot, this is likely what is behind this issue. I have seen it at my office where people get new SDHC cameras and then can't read the cards in their laptop with the SD card reader slot. Newer laptops and readers should alleviate this issue, along with newer cameras with SDHC slots instead of just SD.

If this is accurate you are going to be limited to 2gb with you A1.

Good Luck
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 09:56 AM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik View Post
Unless the A1 specifically has an SDHC logo on the box or near the card slot...
It does though. See attached pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Max Memory Size for SD Card?-img_5639.jpg  
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 12:05 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
I just read the manual, and I did not see any limitation in SDHC card size.

I just tried an 8GB SDHC card in my camera, and it works fine. (If using an SD card, the limit is 2GB)

Two things to check:
1. The lock on the SDHC card has to be "OFF."
2. The card may have to be "initialized."

Also, the switch on the right side of the camera needs to be in the SDHC card position.

The manual also has a note that "Performance cannot be guaranteed for all memory cards" -- whatever that means in practice.
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 01:17 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Didn't realize the A1 supported SDHC cards. Sorry....just out of curiosity is this the A1S?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 05:36 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Nope. My cam is the XH-A1. I can't even initialize the card bc the "card operations" option isn't available.

Yes, the switch is switched to "card" on the side. No, the card's protective switch is not "on."

My computer's card reader reads it fine. So it's prolly not a defective issue. Maybe my camera is??
Tony Busto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 05:58 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Busto View Post
Nope. My cam is the XH-A1. I can't even initialize the card bc the "card operations" option isn't available.

Yes, the switch is switched to "card" on the side. No, the card's protective switch is not "on."

My computer's card reader reads it fine. So it's prolly not a defective issue. Maybe my camera is??
Does the card that came with the camera work? Do you have a different and smaller card to try?
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 07:28 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Yes, original 16mb card works. I believe my 2 gig card works, too. I guess I'll go back to that. Thx for all your input!
Tony Busto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 09:31 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Apparently, the line in the manual that I quoted in another post applies to your situation....

"Performance cannot be guaranteed for all memory cards."
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 11:33 PM   #13
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Busto View Post
I believe my 2 gig card works, too. I guess I'll go back to that.
That really is your best option, because the capacity of a 16GB card is wasted on the Canon XH. There's just no point in using a card with that much memory; it has no advantage in the XH. Your 2GB card really is the most appropriate size to use. It will hold 1,400 still images at the largest size and best quality that the XH can produce. It'll take you a long time to fill up a 2GB card in the XH.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network