computer not detecting Canon XH A1S at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 7th, 2009, 05:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
computer not detecting Canon XH A1S

my computer detects canon xl2 fine but not detecting Canon XH A1S at all ... is there is driver for that which i can upgrade?

i am running vista 64 bit with Sony Vegas 9.0
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2009, 09:53 AM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 188
If you have the camera set to HDV output it will not auto-launch the capture video window when the camera is powered up. You need to go under file and select the capture video option. A box should then appear giving you the option to capture 1.Dv or, 2. HDV or SDI.

If I understand correctly the camera must be set to downconvert to SD output for the DV capture to work.

The XL-2 works because it is SD and should auto-launch the capture window when it is powered up.

If this is not the problem, it may be an issue with Vista.
Willard Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 08:47 AM   #3
New Boot
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 7
The Canon HD camers use a special Canon-Only Codec.

I had the same problem with Adobe Premier and my XHA1. I went to Adobe and downloaded the plug in and works perfectly now.

You will have to do the same thing to get the cam to work with Vegas
Michael Reyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 03:11 PM   #4
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 204
I know this isn't a solution, but an additional comment that may trigger a solution from someone else. Sometimes my computer detects my A1 and sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes inside Premiere it won't see it, and I close Premiere and open it back up and it magically appears--at times.

Sometimes it doesn't appear at all and I have to reboot my system and then it works.

I haven't found a solution, but at least mine works sometimes. I'm on Vista 32, BTW.

Sorry I couldn't be more help.

(My first post here, by the way!)
Lloyd Ubshura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 05:21 PM   #5
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 2
I have this same problem and am not sure what to do. Pinnacle 12 Ultimate on Vista detects my Canon XH A1 perfectly however the Canon Console software dosent see it. This is on an Acer laptop with Vista 32 bit.

Last edited by Godfrey Layne; August 10th, 2009 at 05:21 PM. Reason: spelling
Godfrey Layne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 08:59 AM   #6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,474
FWIW: You need the ver 1.1 update of Console to work with the XHa1, if you don't have it: read about it here: XH A1 High Definition Camcorder :: CONSOLE Software

We have found the 4-pin firewire on our several XHA1's (the original version, the new one is a 6 pin) to be notoriously persnickity about connecting...a tiny wiggle side to side will make and break contact pretty easily....causing linking problems, for some reason, particularly with Console.

Other than that, I have had no problem connecting the XHa1 to Premiere Pro CS4 and having the program recognize the camera and capture without issue. There is no special driver required, Vista and PPr CS4 recognize the camera just fine. (HDV mode in firewire, haven't tried SD) Earlier versions of Premiere Pro did require a special plugin for the Canon, but this appears to be native to the CS4 version. / Battle Vaughan / Miami Herald
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network