Cannot change aperture or shutter speed in Manual mode! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 20th, 2009, 04:38 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 15
Cannot change aperture or shutter speed in Manual mode!

I think I am going insane! For some reason, despite the XH A1 being in Manual mode, I cannot change my aperture or shutter speed!

The shutter toggle isn't locked...

It's stuck at 1/30 f1.0..... also, I've checked the switch at the top and it isn't in the lock position....

Help!

- now I tried resetting everything back to default - and it's all Japanese text in the menus!

Oh dear me... what have I done? (resetting made no difference - still locked in manual mode...cannot change shutter or exposure :( )
Clare Springs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2009, 05:25 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Clare, how did you reset the camera? Did you do it via the reset button near the speaker grille on the top of the camera, under the LCD display?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2009, 05:40 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 15
In the menu on the LCD display.... managed to find the English option in the menu

Is it better to do a reset with the reset button at the top of the camera?

The problem with not being able to chance the shutter speed or aperture continues in Manual
Clare Springs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2009, 12:59 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
Can you change them in any other mode?
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2009, 01:06 AM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Recommend performing a hard re-set via the button (the end of a paperclip will do nicely for pressing it).

Also try calling the Canon help line for more advice -- ask about the reset button. 1-800-OK-CANON.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2009, 06:47 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 15
Thanks Chris, I did call them and they told me how to do that... but said I will need to send it in as it made no difference.

Just purchased this item off eBay so I am most upset about it.... the seller is being very good however and I am sure it will be sorted.
Clare Springs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network