ND On/Off warnings at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 17th, 2009, 07:44 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 246
ND On/Off warnings

Is it true that the A1 can warn me to use the ND filter by flashing ND On and warn me to switch it off by flashing ND Off? My A1 doesn't warn me for ND.
__________________
www.cvd-video.nl
Kees van Duijvenbode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2009, 11:24 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 858
Doubtful, I have yet to see such a warning on the XH-A1, nor is there a menu option for this. My suggestion, shoot in shutter-priority mode and allow the camera to adjust the shutter speed when you've got too much light (and forgot to set your ND filter). Better yet, do as the pros do, set your iris manually and use zebras to let you know when you're overexposing important parts of the image. This gives you the benefit of a f-stop readout on the LCD. If you find yourself closing down to f-9, its time to up the ND.
Oren Arieli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2009, 11:30 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
The manual says there's warnings, and i've received them myself...

Of course, these are extreme situations, in where you're Exposure lock might be set, and have unwittingly opened up the ND to the first setting...But it's definately not a common occurence..Your Zebra stripes would be the first hint of trouble...
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2009, 01:10 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 48
See page 39 of the instruction manual.

Also be aware that several other pages have "Precautions related to the camcorder operation." entries which refer to the ND filter.

The easiest way to find all these entries (and the entries for any other subjects for that matter), is to download the manual in pdf format and use "Find" (under the Edit menu).
Colin Reid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 02:00 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 244
Hi

I'm more or less sure that ND warnings never will show up in M (Manual) mode. I use M most of the time but sometime I've used other modes and seen the ND filter warning flash. Side 31 in the manual says:

"When using a recording program other than M Manual and if the AGC switch is set to ON, the following displays appears: "

followed by a list of different ND warnings, either to activate or deactivate ND filters depending on what the camcorder think is the best.


Regards,

/Bo
Bo Sundvall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 02:59 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SF
Posts: 54
Now that you mention it, I think the XH-A1 does do that. I remember having that experience a long time ago when I first got my XH-A1 but since I rarely trust the cam's auto settings, I turned it off. And now I don't know how to turn it back on because I would never use it anyway. Just extra stuff on the display that makes the image harder to see.
__________________
Sean Finnegan, cinematographer
imfinnegan.tumblr.com // ign.com
Sean Finnegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 03:56 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Prague Czech Republic
Posts: 263
Yes, warning is true. But it is warning only if ND filter is not right switched.
Pavel Sedlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 07:20 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sulligent, Alabama
Posts: 132
Nd

The camera will flash ND when it needs it - and flash in red when it must be reset or turned off. Be careful of shooting in very bright sunlight without the ND - or ignoring it. See the note on blurred images related to use/non use of the ND. ( Mode was auto, auto gain, auto iris )

I have had this problem show up on a shoot where the producer didn't want any tapes viewed until they were captured .. Problem - shoot was in Wyoming ; producer in Kentucky didn't look at the footage until 6 months later. There were 3 shots out of 6 tapes that were blurry due to this issue - but they could have easily been THE ones I needed.
Darin Clifton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 11:35 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
I always follow the ND flashing icon with the XH-A1. I'm not sure if it's my camera, if I have ND filter on, in bright day light, there're more visible noise. What should i do? Should I try resetting the camera?
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 01:47 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Personally, i'll hit the Exposure lock button to tell me my current Fstop under the current lighting conditions. F4.0 or F5.6 is the sweet spot..If it's too low or high, i reset my HD filter and redo the above for good measure...It's just as fast and easy for my EVF+Zebra stripes tell me approximately where i should be...

As for noise, i've noticed that the footage looks a bit softer with the ND filter set to max. Regardless of exposure..Perhaps it's just me.
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 01:49 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Oh it's not just you. I have such problem too. Once time I did a wedding in a bright sunny day. The footage got very noisy.
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 05:07 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
I see this sometimes as well, but I put it down to the camera getting hot in the Singapore sunshine and degrading the sensor operation. Haven't done any proper tests on this though.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 07:38 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 48
Soft and/or Noisy Footage

Hi Richard, Taky and Peter,

The first paragraph under the heading "Using the ND Filter" in the instruction manual reads:

"When recording in bright surroundings, the camcorder will set a small aperture value and the picture may appear blurred. Turn the ND filter on/off according to the screen display."

This section then goes on to say in part:

"When using a recording program other than M Manual and if the AGC switch is set to ON,....:"

So, the softness (looks slightly out of focus) can come from not turning the ND filter on.

As to the noise, since the ND filter warning only operates when recording in other than Manual and the AGC switch is set to ON, then the noise may be coming from the AGC setting you have previously input.

In any case, in very bright sunlight the maximum inbuilt ND filter may still not be enough to cope with the bright light, so you might consider investing in some external ND filters so that you have more effective control of the camera when using one of the automatic modes.

It does go on to say in the instruction manual, ""If you have no external ND filter available, use the Tv mode and set a high shutter speed,...." which might alleviate the problem, but still leaves you in the situation where the settings used automatically by the camera may still not cope effectively with the bright light.

Hope this helps.

Colin
Colin Reid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 09:53 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Colin,

Thank you so much for your insight. I'm just glad there're so many knowledagable people here. I will kick away my bad AUTO mode habit start practicing using Tv mode you suggest.

Taky
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 10:37 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Sundvall View Post
I'm more or less sure that ND warnings never will show up in M (Manual) mode.
Not precisely true. I've seen the warning in manual mode.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network