Used my ZaZaSlider today. Is the footage Jumpy or is it just me? Help? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 28th, 2009, 12:45 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Holmdel, NJ
Posts: 81
Used my ZaZaSlider today. Is the footage Jumpy or is it just me? Help?

Hey everyone,
So I wanted to use my ZaZaSlider to shoot some footage today, so I scurried over to my uncle's shop where they have a lot of heavy machinery. I set up all my gear and the slider and took some sweet footage.

Here's the problem.
After looking at the final product, it seems jumpy to me.
I have a 24" 2.66 GHz Intel dual core iMac.
I used a Canon XH-A1 in AV mode, set to the most open aperture. (Since it was pretty dark in the shop and I couldn't light everything)
Recorded in 24 fps, edited on Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 in the HDV 24p preset sequence.

Would exporting it with a different fps be an issue?

Here's the final edit. Beauty In Industry on Vimeo

Thanks,
Kevin
__________________
Check out my blog at KevinSawicki.com
Kevin Sawicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 12:52 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Noosa Queensland Australia
Posts: 236
Looks like you've still got the Image Stabilizer on.
Bill Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 01:36 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 55
Hi Kevin.
When did you notice that there is a jumpiness in the video?
Only after exporting the video from Adobe Premiere, or is evident when you view it from your A1?
Are you using your system Drive on your iMac or an external Drive and if you are using an external drive what type of Drive 7,200 rpm, is it connected by USB or firewire, how full is it?
Image stabilizer switched on when using your ZaZabar or slow drives when capturing or exporting, capturing to your system drive are various reasons that can cause jumpiness in your video.
BTW, your video looks good apart from the odd jumpiness.
I too use the iMac, similar to yours, but I use FCP, I always use a fast external drive 2TB, 7,200 rpm firewire 800 for captured video.
Anthony J. Howe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2009, 12:22 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Holmdel, NJ
Posts: 81
I guess it's the image stabilizer.
I see it on both the xha1 screen, cable into hdtv, on my comp, and after the export.
I'll shoot another video soon and see if it made a difference.
Thanks,
Kevin
__________________
Check out my blog at KevinSawicki.com
Kevin Sawicki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network