capturing HDV with CS4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 7th, 2009, 12:42 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
capturing HDV with CS4

in FCP if i wanted to, i can let a whole tape capture and it will be broken up into clips by rec/pause presses.

in premiere pro cs4 i do see a scene detect option but not highlighted when i try and capture HDV. is it only when capturing DV?

Anybody know of and good HDV tutorials for working with Ppro? like best capture presets?


thanks for reading

~pieces
Janson Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 01:04 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janson Williams View Post
in FCP if i wanted to, i can let a whole tape capture and it will be broken up into clips by rec/pause presses.

in premiere pro cs4 i do see a scene detect option but not highlighted when i try and capture HDV. is it only when capturing DV?

Anybody know of and good HDV tutorials for working with Ppro? like best capture presets?


thanks for reading

~pieces
I use CS4 exclusivly but I capture a little differently then most I think.

Before I capture I watch each scene as it is played and then only capture the scenes I like. For example if an actor does 14 takes of a line but I only like 3, I will only capture those three then decide which one to use as I edit. I may be strange but I don't like having an hour or more worth of footage for a 30 second spot which still leaves me with a ton of unused footage.

The thing I don't like about CS4 is that when you capture HD the monitor picture disappears as you are capturing it forcing you to either watch your little camera screen or noting your in and out points. Supposedly the new CS series will fix this.
Danny Winn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 02:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 244
Hi

Google for HDVsplit, download it and capture. It desn't have batch capture functionality but it has preview and scene splitting. It can also split an already captured HDV file if it was captured with for example Adobe Premiere CS4.

It captures into m2t format compared to CS4 mpeg format but it's no problem for CS4 as it's more or less the same.

A lot of people on this forum uses HDV Split and as I understand are very pleased with it, including my self.

Regards,

/Bo
Bo Sundvall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 10:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
thank you, i will check out HDVsplit out this weekend and post what i get from it,

as for capturing the whole tape, for me, its less run time on the camera, i just rewind let it run and capture, rather than running through it marking ins and outs, then having it rewind again to capture, where it needs to rewind/fast forward a lot to cue up with the time code
Janson Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 03:48 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oakville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Sundvall View Post
Hi

Google for HDVsplit, download it and capture. It desn't have batch capture functionality but it has preview and scene splitting. It can also split an already captured HDV file if it was captured with for example Adobe Premiere CS4.

It captures into m2t format compared to CS4 mpeg format but it's no problem for CS4 as it's more or less the same.

A lot of people on this forum uses HDV Split and as I understand are very pleased with it, including my self.

Regards,

/Bo
Hi Bo,
Took your advise and used HDVsplit to capture (HDV, 24fps video) from the XH to my computer hardrive since CS4 was giving issues.
One thing I noticed is that the file size of each clip seems a bit low. Is this normal? Has the capture quality been compromised?
Thanks in advance.
Ash Varma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2009, 07:09 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roma, Italy
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Varma View Post
Hi Bo,
Took your advise and used HDVsplit to capture (HDV, 24fps video) from the XH to my computer hardrive since CS4 was giving issues.
One thing I noticed is that the file size of each clip seems a bit low. Is this normal? Has the capture quality been compromised?
Thanks in advance.
Hi Bo,

I've been using HDVSplit for a year on numerous projects and never had the capture quality compromised. I've never been able to get CS4 to capture my HD properly, so can't compare there. However, I've put finished projects back onto tape before (originally captured with HDVSplit), and so far as I can tell, there's no degradation in quality. Not on my 42" Plasma 1080i TV anyway.

Chris
__________________
Canon XH A1, Letus Elite, WD-H72, Zeiss 35/2, Nikons 24/2.8, 50/1.2, 55/2.8, 85/1.4, Miller DS200, SD 302 FM, 2 X R0DE NTG-3, Senn ew100 G2, SKP 500 G2, Lowel Rifa kit, CS4.
Christopher Warwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 04:37 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
i see that it is only available for windows, know of any versions for the mac?
Janson Williams is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network