FCP crashes during capture vis firewire?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2009, 11:29 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 55
FCP crashes during capture vis firewire??

Shot HDV footage on XHG1 as 108025f. Capturing into FCP7 using 'HDV via firewire' to ProRes 720p25fps. FCP is consistently crashing when the tape gets about 20 minutes in, always at the same place.

Working on an early 2008 MacPro 2.8 GHz quad, 8GB RAM, running OSX 10.5.8.

I've trashed the preferences and restarted, but FCP continues to crash on capture.

Any help would be appreciated.

Incidentally, the captured file only appears as plain text, so I have to add '.mov' to the file name to make it a quicktime file. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance,

James
Jim Press is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 02:19 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
Is it at a timecode break? If so go into preferences and and tick the box "Warn on timecode break)
If not will it capture after that 20 min mark?
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 09:01 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 55
Hi Jonathan,

No timecode break, it was a continuous 50 minute recording. I've worked around it by breaking up my capture into 3 20ish minutes captures, which worked, but that's obviously not a long term solution. Very curious...
Jim Press is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2009, 12:06 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
So does it do it every 20 mins? Are you capturing to internal or an external drive? Will it capture over the crashing point if you start capturing at say 18 mins?

Just trying to get a full picture.
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2009, 08:36 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 55
Thanks for your help Jonathan. Yes it will capture over the problem area; no dropped frames. Being captured to internal raid5 500GB+ free, so space not an issue (that was my initial thought too). The processors aren't being thrashed; crash occurs when I'm running other apps (eg Compressor) AND when I'm not running other apps...

I have captured heaps of footage previously without this occurring, including with my current versions of FCP, QT etc.

I'm perplexed...
Jim Press is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:39 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
Yeah you've got me stuffed too....sorry for not being any more help.
Very strange.
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network