Interlaced 30f at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2009, 06:29 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
Interlaced 30f

I normally shoot in HD 30f but I'm having troubles with my editing system (here's the thread: http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/attend-w...stability.html). So I have decided to shoot in SD 30f for the time being, but guess what, Another problem! The supposedly progressive 30f mode captures as interlaced 60i in Premiere Pro. The final output will be for web.

Which leads to another question, is there a difference in quality between shooting in progressive on the A1 to begin with and deinterlacing 60i in post?

Any Ideas?
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Old September 23rd, 2009, 08:13 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
You can capture at HDV 1080p 30. When you're setting up your project and it asks you to select your "new sequence" settings, select "HDV" under the available presets, then select "HDV 1080p 30. I've been using this setting since i got my XH A1s, it's beautiful!

If you have to use SD, just make sure your export settings are set to progressive, that's all I've ever used, I never use interlaced.
Danny Winn is offline  
Old September 23rd, 2009, 08:17 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
I agree, I think it is your nle.....not the camera.

Refer to page 40 of xha1 manual.
Michael Hutson is offline  
Old September 23rd, 2009, 08:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Well remember, in SD modes, it is recording to the DV standard. So both 24F and 30F progressive modes will be laid down on tape as an interlaced stream.

In 30F, both fields will be comprised of the same frame, so in essence, it is still progressive. 24F will have a pulldown added.

The modes will stay fully progressive in HD mode, no laying on tape as interlaced.
Michael Galvan is offline  
Old September 23rd, 2009, 09:01 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
The 30f videos really are interlaced. It's apparent just by watching them. In both Premiere and AE they are identified as interlaced in the interpret footage dialog box. Why?
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Old October 8th, 2009, 07:00 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
Here's a sample clip shot in 24f, but is still interlaced. What's going on?

http://www.archive.org/download/Rive...rlaced_24f.avi
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Old October 8th, 2009, 07:54 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 42
That interlacing has to be coming from your editing workflow. The .avi you provided is 720x480 at 29.97fps. Your NLE must be set up to render as NTSC interlaced. I use vegas, not premiere, but there must be some way for you to set the project as progressive..
Brian Ford is offline  
Old October 8th, 2009, 08:38 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
That is the RAW untranscoded video from the A1 shot in 24f DV 16/9. Premiere interprets it as 720x480 23.976 Lower Field First. It was captured in a DV 24p project.
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Old October 8th, 2009, 10:31 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
I just looked at y our clip, and it seems fine.

Remember, 24F in SD is exactly how the DVX dealt with 24P. There is a 3:2 pulldown added to conform it to 60i (29.97). I just took your clip and did a reverse 3:2 pulldown removal, and extracted the 24F just fine.

24F is only laid to tape in as native 24 frames if shot in HDV mode.
Michael Galvan is offline  
Old October 8th, 2009, 11:52 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
How would I do a reverse 3:2 pulldown removal in Premiere? In the interpret footage dialogue box there is a check mark next to: "Remove 24p DV pulldown". This is the first time I've ever dealt with 24p video, so if you could explain it to me I would appreciate it.
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Old October 9th, 2009, 04:16 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Galvan View Post
Well remember, in SD modes, it is recording to the DV standard. So both 24F and 30F progressive modes will be laid down on tape as an interlaced stream.
So Michael, are you saying that the A1 cannot shoot in SD progressively, only HD? If that is true what is the difference between 30i and 30f in SD? Thanks
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Old October 9th, 2009, 05:22 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Mitch,

Yes, it totally shoots and lays as progressive in SD as well as HD.

The difference is in HD, it lays it at 24 discrete frames per second to tape and that's it. You can capture it into your editing system 1:1.

In SD, if you shot 24F, it lays it to tape as 60i by introducing a 3:2 pulldown (or 3:2:2:3 pulldown - you can choose which method in camera). Every DV camera that shoots 24 progressive does a pulldown as the minidV standard is 60i.

So in order to reclaim the 24F which has been embedded in the stream, is to remove it, either upon capture, or after capturing to 60i, and thus bringing it back to true 24 frames.

in 30P(F), you can capture as 60i and leave it because both fields will be the same, hence it essentially being progressive.

Sorry, I only edit mainly with Final Cut Pro and Avid, so I don't know the workings of premiere.

Hope this helps.
Michael Galvan is offline  
Old October 10th, 2009, 03:51 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
So what is the best way to remove pulldown? Is pulldown removal necessary for both 24f and 30f in SD? Premiere sees the 24f and 30f videos as interlaced and deinterlaces them; will this degrade the image quality? The deinterlacing also uses more system resources, slowing the whole editing process down.
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Old October 10th, 2009, 07:58 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Mitch, although i don't shoot in 30FPS, i believe the trick in Premiere, is to work on a 29.97fps timeline (interlaced), but upon export, choose the progressive output. Internally, PPro treats it as interlaced....
Although, i'm not working with CS4 currently, take it with a grain of salt...
Peter Manojlovic is offline  
Old October 12th, 2009, 05:09 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
Peter, won't Premiere deinterlace the video? If so, what is the advantage of shooting in 30f over 60i?
Mitch Hunt is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network