Still Have Grain at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 4th, 2009, 10:51 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 12
Still Have Grain

I've been doing everything right....

NO gain. NO AGC (of course).

But when I upload my Canon XH-A1 footage into Final Cut, I still have jumping grain over parts of the image.

Could it have something to do with the shutter -- which I keep at 1/24. Or maybe a preset?
Kyle Novak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2009, 11:53 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
I noticed the same problem. Even at 0db, there are still noise. Now I have to set the camera at -3db as suggested by other members.
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 06:51 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Yes your shutter speed could have something to do with it. Why 1/24?
Also what frame rate?
How much light?
What aperture?
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 08:41 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Novak View Post
NO AGC (of course).
Not enough information, sorry.

For example, AGC is always on (even though the switch is set to off) when the program mode is in the Green Box position.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 06:19 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Not enough information, sorry.

For example, AGC is always on (even though the switch is set to off) when the program mode is in the Green Box position.
Right. I don't use the green box position.
Kyle Novak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 06:22 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by David W. Jones View Post
Yes your shutter speed could have something to do with it. Why 1/24?
Also what frame rate?
How much light?
What aperture?
Frame rate is 24. I like the look of 1/24 on motion. I vary the iris depending the situation.
Kyle Novak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 06:43 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
When I set my Low gain to the -3db setting it helped greatly and I'm now happy.

You've got to remember though that any camera that has three 1/4 inch CCD's will struggle with grain to some degree, especially in low light, so make sure your scenes are lit as good as possible. Darker scenes can be delt with in post much of the time.

Until we can all afford cameras with three 1/2 inch CCD's we'll just have to learn the tricks to combating grain. Try lowering your low gain to -3.
Danny Winn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2009, 06:38 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Winn View Post
When I set my Low gain to the -3db setting it helped greatly and I'm now happy.

You've got to remember though that any camera that has three 1/4 inch CCD's will struggle with grain to some degree, especially in low light, so make sure your scenes are lit as good as possible. Darker scenes can be delt with in post much of the time.

Until we can all afford cameras with three 1/2 inch CCD's we'll just have to learn the tricks to combating grain. Try lowering your low gain to -3.
The XH-A1 has 1/3" CCDs not 1/4".

Try manual mode, gain -3db, 24fps, 1/48 shutter speed. Set your zebras to 100 ire,
now open the iris until you see the proper exposure.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2009, 02:01 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by David W. Jones View Post
The XH-A1 has 1/3" CCDs not 1/4".

Try manual mode, gain -3db, 24fps, 1/48 shutter speed. Set your zebras to 100 ire,
now open the iris until you see the proper exposure.

Yes, that's what I meant of course 3 1/3 CCD's.
Danny Winn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2009, 05:06 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
Not being funny but what are you viewing the footage on?
You shouldn't be getting grain in manual mode with Gain at -3 and usual shutter speeds.
Was the location dark?

Can you post a full res screen image?

Edit: Also is the grain across the picture or just for example in the blacks?
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network