Playback Freezing on XHA1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2009, 08:59 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 371
Playback Freezing on XHA1

Hi everyone,
I have two xha1 and both of them are freezing when playing back tapes on xha1 forget capturing. This happens when I simply play it back. Originally, I thought it was capturing issue or version 6.0 of FCP

Any thoughts?
__________________
Jawad Mir / Cinematographer . Filmmaker
Film Style Weddings http://www.filmstyleweddings.com Jawad Mir http://www.jawadmir.com
Jawad Mir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 04:03 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
This could happen if your DV tapes are contaminated, clog up the tape path and stick in the transport.

What brand are you using, how old are they and do you reuse them a lot? Is your cleaning tape the same brand as your recording tapes?

Buy some brand new DV tapes and a cleaning tape from a major manufacturer .. and record only at SP speed.

ALWAYS use the same brand DV cleaning and recording tape.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2009, 12:52 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 371
I use panasonic tapes and use the same head cleaner

and it always happens in the first 10 min of the tape and after that more or less it's fine
__________________
Jawad Mir / Cinematographer . Filmmaker
Film Style Weddings http://www.filmstyleweddings.com Jawad Mir http://www.jawadmir.com
Jawad Mir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 04:27 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 371
i tried it again no luck. i tried again on hv20 and same places tape freezes

this is weird. i doubt its the camera. it freezes when not hooked up too. any one out there?
__________________
Jawad Mir / Cinematographer . Filmmaker
Film Style Weddings http://www.filmstyleweddings.com Jawad Mir http://www.jawadmir.com
Jawad Mir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 09:05 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Sounds like bad tape. There was a particular lot of Panasonic tapes that were bad. Fortunately, I avoided them. Search the "Long Black Line" section and I'm sure all the details on it will surface.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network