4:2:2 Component Out.... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 18th, 2009, 01:58 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
4:2:2 Component Out....

Hi Everyone!

A quick question for you. Does the A1S output 4:2:2 through component video out? I'm considering getting a breakout capture box to capture to prores whenever the need arises and I'm figuring out which camera would be best.

A1S would be the cheaper option. The other option would be the Sony Z5U if somehow I get an influx of cash. lol.
__________________
Kaleem Maxwell - Web Producer & Developer
www.kmaxwell.com

Last edited by Kaleem Maxwell; December 18th, 2009 at 04:29 PM. Reason: Codec correction.
Kaleem Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2009, 10:17 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Anyone? I did do a search for the answer before on the forum before posting this as the answers weren't 100% clear. (lol)
__________________
Kaleem Maxwell - Web Producer & Developer
www.kmaxwell.com
Kaleem Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2009, 09:17 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 369
I've been trying to figure out the same thing and I am pretty certain that it does NOT. The G1 does via HD-SDI
David Schuurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2009, 10:08 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
I was always under the impression that comp out was uncompressed 1440x1080, so it would be 4.2.2.... how would you test to find out?
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2009, 06:23 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Schuurman View Post
I've been trying to figure out the same thing and I am pretty certain that it does NOT. The G1 does via HD-SDI
This is what I keep hearing. I know the Z5U does 4:2:2 VIA HDMI (and I assume most 1/3 or 1/4" chip HD cams with HDMI) but no mention about whether or not the A1S does it through component out.
__________________
Kaleem Maxwell - Web Producer & Developer
www.kmaxwell.com
Kaleem Maxwell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network