Recording directly to the MAC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2009, 05:34 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1
Recording directly to the MAC

Has anyone tried to connect directly from the XH A1s to a MAC for recording to the computer without using the tape. I'm running FCP 7 as the editor. Please tell me your set-up for direct recording if you have done this process.
Thanks, Miles Hale
Miles Hale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2009, 05:04 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
Recording to mac

Miles,

I record using quicktime pro. In SD, I can record two inputs at the same time (1 using an expresscard adapter FW adapter). In HD, I record only one camera at a time, though I have not tried 2 HD sources. Simple FW hookup, there is a slight lag on the computer but it makes for a great backup. I have actually started using the computer as my main footage and the tapes as backup. Saves me a ton since I can now reuse the tapes. Hope this helps some.
__________________
Jonathan Schwartz
CA Video Productions
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 05:36 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sanibel Florida
Posts: 99
hi,

When I was home at Mom's I filmed all the 8 mm my Dad shot 50 so years ago. I plugged the camera into my Apple lap top, and it went right in. I saved the tapes, but used the computer to make DVD's. This saved me from having to download the tapes.

Ken
Kenneth Burgener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2009, 12:50 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 16
OnLocation

You can record straight to disk with Adobe OnLocation. It comes with Creative Suite. It also provides a complete set of scopes, etc, so you can monitor your levels while shooting. It's a little laggy, and you have to jump through a couple hoops (Google "Clip Wrap") to get the footage into FCP but you can go straight to disk this way.
David Quakenbush is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network