Does the Canon XH-A1s have an s-video out? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2009, 10:56 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 287
Does the Canon XH-A1s have an s-video out?

I did a search on this forum and haven't found evidence that it does. However, at the canon site I came across this XH A1S High Definition Camcorder :: Specifications
which clearly states that it does have an s-video terminal.

So my question is to those that have this camera. Does it have and s-video out and if it does can you do a live down convert to 4x3 while still recording HDV to tape?

I've recently done this with the sony z1, but I'm looking for a new camera and the A1s was suggested. But if it doesn'e have s-video than it won't work for my needs.
Jeremy Doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 03:13 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 287
anyone? I thought this would be an easy question.
Jeremy Doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 08:41 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Jeremy. I don't have the S version of the XH-A1, just the original one, but I checked the manual for the XH-A1S and there is no S-Video connector. There's a possibility you can get Y-C out of the component video sockets via a menu option but I think the chances are very slim. As you say, it should be easy for an "S" owner to answer this one.

Regarding the downconverting, you can get a live SD signal from the composite terminal while shooting HDV, but it is 16:9 aspect ratio, not 4:3. Is it common for cameras to provide cropping in this way? I haven't come across it before.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 09:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 287
Hi Richard,

Does the origianl A1 have and s-video out?

Using a sony Z1 in the past I have recorded to HDV while cropping to 4x3 downcovert using the s-video at the same time. I guess the s-video has been dropped from the 2nd and 3rd generation HDV cameras. That's too bad.

Thanks
Jeremy Doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 09:38 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Jeremy. No, the A1 only has composite and component outputs. May I know why you particularly need the Y-C output? I know it is better than composite, but since it is SD anyway does it matter that much? Or can't you use the component outputs? Just wondering.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2009, 11:12 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
If Y/C video is that important to you simply purchase a component to s-vid cable and be done with it!
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2009, 03:54 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 287
We have and use an s-video switcher. I didn't even know the made a component to S cable. It would be a new camera going into an already existing configuration. There's already a 50ft run of S cable hooked to the switcher. Its going to a 4x3 projector live, hence the reason for wanting to down convert. We'd also like to record the events in HDV for the best quality after the fact.
Jeremy Doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2009, 05:53 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Jeremy. OK, I understand. Sounds to me like your best bet is to stick with the Z1, since it has everything you need. I doubt if the XH-A1S would be significantly better anyway for what you are doing.

But as David mentioned, you could use an adapter cable to get the Y-C signal. (Probably composite to Y-C is easier than component to Y-C, because it is quite small). It could be fitted at the camera end and terminate in an S-Video socket that accepts your existing 50ft cable.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network