Any progress in relationship between XHA1/A1s and CS4? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 10th, 2010, 02:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
Any progress in relationship between XHA1/A1s and CS4?

I am deadly serious, cause I'm exploring already for too long time.
Will my CS4 recognice a1s or no?
Have you guys got any similar experience, lately?!!!
PLsss
Salvis Are is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 02:52 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Walworth, NY
Posts: 291
Salvis,

I have beenn using CS4 and my A1 s for months and no problem. Do you mean you cannot capture?
David Chilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 04:35 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
aha

well, 50/50
i understand that the trial version ain't support my camcorder, but in the same time i dont wanna buy a software and then buy more to capture my footage, u know..
i am not sure if premiere will recognize my cam, that's the big problem
when i had dv it was no probs, but now i am struggling to take a risk
and i haven't got extra 1000 quid in my pocket..
and i have vista now, so i am considering to jump to windows 7..
and there is a lot of threads that premiere don't recognize xha1s and sometimes it is vista's problem, so..
...HOW MANY OF YOU OUT THERE HAVE NO PROBS TO CAPTURE A1s TO CS4...
pls reply, i wanna be sure, maybe it's my problem here in pc, u know..
thanks!!!
Salvis Are is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 01:51 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 85
I have the A1 and am using CS4 on Vista 64-bit, and I haven't had any problems. Up until just a few months ago, I had 32-bit Vista and that worked too. I'm going to wait to get Win7, but I have heard it works well with both. The Adobe site says the A1 is supported for Vista, but I haven't checked since 7 came out.

You might be having firewire port driver issues, as I have seen on other threads. Or maybe it's just because you had the trial version.
Kevin Currie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 02:07 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 85
Salvis, you're correct the trial versions will not support HD.

Premiere Pro CS3 and CS4 both support the Canon XH-A1 and XH-A1s. I've captured from both cameras to both versions of Premere Pro on Windows XP (32-bit), Windows Vista (64-bit), Windows 7 (64-bit). As long as your computer has a firewire port you shouold be all set.
Roger Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2010, 03:39 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
Cheers!

Perfecto, guys!!!
Thanks.
Salvis Are is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2010, 04:47 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
One drawback CS3/4 does not do scene detection and preview during capture. You will need HDVsplit for that.
or capture with Cineforms NeoScene to a HD avi.
I tested the A1 with CS4 on W7 and no capture problems, but i use a second hand HV20 to do all my capturework.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network