Autofocus problem with XH A1? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 22nd, 2010, 01:02 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 59
Autofocus problem with XH A1?

Hey there.

Anyone experiencing strange behaviour with instant AF?

In a normal situation (0db, 1/60, F3.2, 60i) with talents in front of a wall (either a bit dark or underexposed), the lens starts flickering and it has problem finding the right point to focus. I can't work with manual focus on that kind of job, because it's not predictable and really "on the go".

I'm not too happy with Canon's autofocus system (had same problem with GL2).
Canon XH A1 - Rode NTG-2 - Canon 7D - 8" HD - 50mm f1.4 - 11-16mm f2.8 - 70-200 f4L
Etienne Didelot-Pothier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2010, 12:06 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland, Ayr www.amour
Posts: 302
Hi, having moved across from a sony camera I found the auto focus on the Canon to be slightly less responsive, however Auto focus should never really be trusted and the only way is to go manual.
If you really cant go manual then zoom in tight on the subject, press the instant auto focus then release prior to re framing and that way you will know the subject is in focus.
Hope this helps.
john estcourt
John Estcourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2010, 12:56 AM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,627
Images: 18
Hi Etienne...........

There is no "strange behaviour" with the Canon auto focus, it's as good as the camerman behind it.

Autofocus can only work if it has a discernible (to it) target to focus on.

A small forground target with an immense background target makes for a poor autofocus scenario, especially if the former has no real contrast or outline.

Dive into the menu's on the A1 and set grids to "ON":

[Display Setup] - [Markers] - [Grid]

If your target doesn't almost completely fill the box of the centre grid, IT WILL NOT FOCUS ON IT.

Throw in bad contrast, poor lighting and a possibly dirty IAF sensor and you have a dogs dinner, where it will "do it's own thing" despite what you may think it should be doing.

Do some tests and check it out and see for yourself how much of that centre box is required before the AF will consistantly lock to it, you'll be suprised (and no, it isn't any worse and actually a lot better than any other make of camera either).

It's a poor workman who blames his tools for a bad job.

Chris Soucy is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network