XHA1 dividing my footage into clips? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2010, 11:31 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
XHA1 dividing my footage into clips?

It appears that my camera is somehow automatically dividing my footage into clips when I import to my timeline. Is this a setting on the camera? Seems like this just started. I double-checked the settings in my nle, and it doesn’t seem to be that. Any thoughts?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 12:31 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Kevin.............

It ain't the camera, it's the NLE.

Every time you hit "Record" on the camera, there is a disconnect with the timecode, ie the timecode at the end of the previous clip will be different to the timecode at the beginning of the new clip.

Some NLE's can be set to detect this disconnect and split the clips based on it.

You don't mention what software you're using, so I can't give you specifics, but somewhere there is a check box for "split by scene" or similar.

Somehow it's got ticked.

You don't want it, uncheck it when you find it.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 06:03 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Just to clarify, the timecode on the tape should not be interrupted when you start and stop the recording. It is the time of day data that jumps. The NLE uses this to detect the scene changes.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 06:05 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 85
What NLE are you using. Most people in the past have complained that the NLE cant do this basic feature and we resort to using third party FREE capture programs. Unless you are not setting up the NLE for importing HD video then it will split the scenes for you. So please let us know what software and settings you are using.
Howard Churgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 07:50 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Torbay, UK
Posts: 170
Like others have said its the NLE your using. In most cases its handy having the clips split up, makes it quicker to find on the one you want and you dont have to waste time cutting it all up.
Jonathan Palfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 12:16 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
I'm currently using Pinnacale Studio 12. I will go back in and check the settings once more.
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 01:43 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 36
I remember I had to update my Vegas Pro for it to accept as a whole footage. Vegas divided the footage into each second or something, haha.

See if they have a support page where you can update your NLE, it just might do the trick.. Hopefully :)

Happy easter!
Daniel D. Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 02:53 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Read the manual................

ftp://ftp.pinnaclesys.de/Manual/Stud...0%20-%20us.pdf

Page 26 - Scene Detection.

All sorts of wonderfull options. Reads like it's enabled from the get go.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2010, 12:04 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Thanks Chris!
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network