HV30 as capture deck for XHA1s? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 30th, 2010, 03:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waynesboro, GA
Posts: 138
HV30 as capture deck for XHA1s?

The specs seem to match up, in fact, the HV30 exceeds in Megapixels...

Does anyone use this model to capture tapes from the XHA1s? I have a small dv consumer camcorder that I have used for several years for my XL1s, so it is just used for recording only.

Any other recommendations?
Thanks!
David Stembridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2010, 07:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
The HV cameras are the perfect capture cams for the Canon XL/XH series cameras.

What's most important is that they read the Canon progressive F modes, so they will capture any mode that your camera will shoot.

Hope this helps.
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2010, 08:25 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Stonington CT
Posts: 14
I use the HV30 to capture from my XH A1s, no problems to report.
Stevie Scon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 07:57 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waynesboro, GA
Posts: 138
all righty,
thank you guys!
David Stembridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 10:55 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 23
HV30 as capture deck for XHA1s (is this for play back?)

hi guys, could someone educate me as to this technique? Is the HV30 used as a playback deck? I'm looking at finding what else I need as to not use my XHA1 for play back, or am I missing the point here?
Peter Anastasopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 11:13 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Reading, PA USA and Athens, Greece
Posts: 269
the idea is to save the wear on the XH heads, so it would be advisable to use the HV30 as both a capture and playback deck.

or pick up a used firestore, datavideo DN-60, or sony mrc1 firewire recorder and go tapeless.
Panagiotis Raris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 11:26 AM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
The idea isn't really to "save wear on the heads" -- you could use the XH for playback every day and not adversely affect the tape playback heads. The notion that you shouldn't use the XH as a playback deck is a complete myth. Instead, the real advantage of using an HV camcorder as a playback deck is to keep your XH free for shooting -- because it's not earning if it's not shooting.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 12:25 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Reading, PA USA and Athens, Greece
Posts: 269
perhaps, but i had to pay for the heads on an old minolta camera to be replaced/serviced, and it was not cheap.

ive gone tapeless anyways, so its a non-issue for me.
Panagiotis Raris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 09:36 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 23
Thanks Chris, excellent point. Panagiotis, I didn't even think of tape less when I was shopping, Getting over the 1H limit would be great for some jobs, I will definitely keep an eye out for solutions as they are posted. Thanks again guys.
Peter Anastasopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2010, 03:05 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England
Posts: 444
The HVs are no slouches as far as recording their own footage either.
Martyn Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2010, 04:00 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 177
HDMI port?

I don't know how true this is, but I saw in another forum post that the HV has HDMI output. That would be good if you use a box like the Matrox MX02 for capture and you don't want to use firewire. If anyone can verify this, please let me know.
Alex DeJesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2010, 01:54 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 236
The HV30 MiniDV does have HDMI.
Maurice Covington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network