Using OnLocation to tape *and* HDD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2010, 08:42 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 94
Using OnLocation to tape *and* HDD?

I can't seem to find a way to get my XH-A1 using OnLocation CS5 to record to tape *and* the laptop HDD. It will record to the laptop HDD just fine, but as soon as I hit record on the XH-A1 to start the tape OnLocation hangs.

Anyone know how to make this work (or not)?
__________________
-- Larry Chapman
Larry Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 02:18 AM   #2
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 68
I'm not sure why OL would stop recording when you start recording to tape. Assuming you're shooting HDV, OL should "spawn" a new clip, which is necessary because HDV cameras interrupt the video stream for an instant (until the start of the next GOP). So you'll end up with a second clip in OL, but it should continue recording.

A couple of things to try:
1) enable the Remote Control option, which causes OnLocation to start and stop recording in slave to the camera. With OnLocation not recording, start recording to tape.
2) Disable the Pre-Buffer (Preferences>Recording)

Do those changes make any difference in the behavior?
__________________
Mark Mapes
OnLocation QA Manager, Adobe Systems
Mark Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 05:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 94
Still no joy

Ok, did some more experimenting.

1) Already messed with the Remote Control option. No change in behavior.
2) Disabling the pre-buffer also made no difference.
3) Sony DCR-VX2100 works just fine with OL CS5.
4) Canon XH-A1 in SD mode works just fine with OL CS5.
5) Swapped 1394 cable (different brand, shorter length), no change.
6) XH-A1 must be connected to the computer and turned-on before OL is started or there is no video feed.
7) Misc. OL displays are all fine until the XH-A1 starts to record, then the OL screen freezes. If recording on the XH-A1 is stopped, OL seems oblivious. But OL will not terminate until the XH-A1 is turned-off because OL thinks it's still recording.

Sure seems like a basic XH-A1/OL incompatibility. That's why I'd love to hear from someone who has OL CS5 and an XH-A1 successfully working together.

Thanks.
__________________
-- Larry Chapman
Larry Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 05:40 PM   #4
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 68
Laptop, huh? I'm guessing it has a built-in webcam. If so, please disable it and see if that keeps OL from hanging.
We found a bug very late in the game--too late to fix it--where OL hangs if a webcam is present and you attempt to record HDV.
__________________
Mark Mapes
OnLocation QA Manager, Adobe Systems
Mark Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 06:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Mapes View Post
Laptop, huh? I'm guessing it has a built-in webcam. If so, please disable it and see if that keeps OL from hanging.
We found a bug very late in the game--too late to fix it--where OL hangs if a webcam is present and you attempt to record HDV.
I found a thread somewhere before I even posted here that talked about that. The original behavior with the webcam enabled was even worse (no video ever). I disabled the webcam in the Device Manager. Still no joy. I noticed that OL still had a selection on the monitor window for "HP Webcam filter". Before it had that selection *and* "HP Webcam". So . . . . I un-installed the webcam software and the "HP Webcam filter" option went away. Now the only option that appears is for the XH-A1 "Canon Camcorder". After that I thought all was good, until I tried to record from the XH-A1.

So, there must still be some vestige of the webcam in the video chain somewhere?

Any thoughts on a service etc. I can look for? The laptop is an HP DV8T monster (quad core i7, 8Gb ram, 2 500Gb HDDS, Windows 7 Premium).

So far the rest of CS5 seems to run great on it.
__________________
-- Larry Chapman
Larry Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 06:49 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 94
Solved!

Found a thread in the forums that pointed me to a 1394 driver update from HP. Installed it, and OL now works with my XH-A1 just fine. Here's the link:

JMicron 1394 Filter Driver HP HDX X16-1155CA Premium Notebook PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

You can also Google "sp45057.exe" if the link doesn't work.

Seems like this is an issue with HP DV7 and HP DV8 laptops.

Thanks for the attention Mark.
__________________
-- Larry Chapman
Larry Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 09:27 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 23
Acer failure just like the HP laptops

OK Larry, I have a non recognition problem with my Acer fire wire (1394) but I thought we didn't need specific drivers for the XH to be recognised. Do I have that right? I have looked and cannot find driver updates for my acer laptop. Any help would be appreciated. p.s, I checked the Microsoft sites as well.
Peter Anastasopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 09:32 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 94
I believe this issue is specific to HP laptops. You are correct, you should not need a specific driver for the XH-A1. You can always set a restore point, try the driver I mentioned and roll-back if it doesn't help.
__________________
-- Larry Chapman
Larry Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network