Possible To Capture Z1 Mini DV Tapes Into Final Cut Via My XH-A1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2010, 05:42 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belfast Northern Ireland
Posts: 261
Possible To Capture Z1 Mini DV Tapes Into Final Cut Via My XH-A1?

Hi Guys

Quick and probably completely stupid question but any thoughts would be really appreciated.

A potential client has informed me they've recorded tapes using a "Z1" (not sure of exact model)

Would it be possible to use my Canon XH-A1 to play these tapes into my computer via Firewire?

Or, will I have to get a hold of a "Z1" video camera to play them in?

Again, any thoughts whatsoever really appreciated.

Warm regards

Peter
Peter Dunphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2010, 06:13 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
should be fine. I capture my FX1 with my Canon HV20 without issue.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2010, 08:37 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
If it's the Sony Z1U .. it records DVCAM and mini DV tapes.

Maybe play OK on your A1 if the tapes were recorded mini DV at SP speed on a PAL Z1U .. LP no. Download the Z1U manual.
Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2010, 12:38 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Red Lodge, Montana
Posts: 889
If memory serves, the Z1u shoots DVCAM, DV at SP and LP and shoots HDV.

My XHA1 will not read DVCAM tapes. If the client shot in DVCAM, you'll need the client's cam or something that will read DVCAM.

HDV and DV-SP tapes are probably easy unless the Z1u is very old and truly worn out with the recording heads seriously out of alignment. Same thing with DV/LP recordings except that cams seem more sensitive to other cam's head alignment issues.

Unless the client shot DVCAM (and, if they did, they probably would know enough to tell you that they did) you will probably have no difficulties. The only way to know is to try it. If you have problems --- which you will see as gaps in the timecode during playback --- or if the client shot in DVCAM, you either: (a) take your XHA1 cam to the client's and do a firewire dub (or even an analog dub if things are really bad); (b) take a a laptop or tapeless recording unit (such as a Sony MRC) over to the client's premises and record off the client's Z1 there or (c) bring the client's Z1 back to your workshop and use use option a or b with your own system.


I run into this every so often, but mostly with client's old mini-DV cams shot in SD/LP mode. I've never had an trouble with playing HDV tapes from a variety of cams through my Canon XHA1 or playing my XHA1 tapes through other cams (including a Sony FX100, Canon HV20, and Sony HDR-HC1.) DVCAM and thrashed old SD miniDV cams have been the exception.

If the client's Z1's firewire port is broken or the camera is really thrashed, you could be reduced to getting the av cable
Jay West is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2010, 04:41 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belfast Northern Ireland
Posts: 261
Brilliant Chris, Allan and Jay thank you all so much for your really helpful feedback. I think they have recorded on Mini DV, so I'll give the tapes a try in my XHA1 and post back to let you know how I get on.

Thanks again!
Peter Dunphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2010, 11:00 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 422
miniDV, DVCAM and HDV tapes are interchangeable - your can record DVCAM, DV and HDV signals onto the same tape if you wish! The important thing is the signal. Regular DV and HDV 50i/60i should be fine. DVCAM is DV but recorded at a higher tape-speed, which is why only a Sony DVCAM camera or deck will play it back. I don't know if a Canon cam will play back Sony's version of 25P/30P (because it's a bit different technically from Canon's 25F/30F), but I'm pretty sure an HV20/30/40 will.

The issue of head wear and alignment is likely to be more of an issue. If both cameras are new-ish or well-maintained, you should be fine. If one or the other is feeling its age, you may have trouble.
__________________
Steam Age Pictures - videos in aid of railway preservation societies.
Mark Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2010, 06:34 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belfast Northern Ireland
Posts: 261
That's great advice thanks Mark.
Peter Dunphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2010, 02:51 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
Yes A1's will play back Sony 25p footage, I have done it when using a Z7 for a job.
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network