Basic query on XHA1s res at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2011, 09:50 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London
Posts: 24
Basic query on XHA1s res

Just trying to get my head around this...

It the XHa1s maximum filming capability 1440 x 1080 or 1920 x 1080?

Keep seeing both come up with regards to the camera, so thought I'd ask the experts!

Thanks in advance anyone
James Fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 10:10 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

HDV, in this case meaning 1440x1080 with a 1.33 pixel aspect ratio.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 11:49 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: S.A.
Posts: 112
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

If your camera has sdi or hdmi output it will bypass hdv compression which is 1440 x 1080 and it will give you uncompressed 1920 x 1080. I don't actually have this camera, so maybe someone who does can confirm this.
Antonie Koen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 12:09 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London
Posts: 24
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

Thanks both - can anyone confirm A's thoughts? Thanks!
James Fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 01:07 PM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

There is no HDMI output on the Canon XH series.

There is an SDI-equipped version of this camera, it is the XH G1S.

But you have to ask yourself... do you really need uncompressed HD output? Most people don't.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 06:24 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 85
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

To your original question, the difference between 1440x1080 and 1920x1080 is that 1440 has a 1.33 pixel aspect ratio (PAR) and 1920 has square pixels (a 1.0 PAR)
Kevin Currie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2011, 10:45 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London
Posts: 24
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

Thanks all, much appreciated!
James Fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2011, 04:16 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
But you have to ask yourself... do you really need uncompressed HD output? Most people don't.
I can speak for nanoFlash users as being one of the exceptions to this.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2011, 08:46 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

Jack, are there any nanoFlash users working with an XH A1, and are they capturing via the component outputs?
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2011, 08:20 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: S. Ozone Park
Posts: 25
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonie Koen View Post
If your camera has sdi or hdmi output it will bypass hdv compression which is 1440 x 1080 and it will give you uncompressed 1920 x 1080. I don't actually have this camera, so maybe someone who does can confirm this.
Yes -- but the CCD's of the camera are still 1440 x 1080, so that is the true native resolution of the camera and what it can record.

The 1920 x 1080 output from the HD-SDI is uncompressed, and also up-scaled (upscaled to 1920 horizontal from 1440 that is).

Just to say I have 3 of the XH-G1 cameras, the HD-SDI is phenomenal when viewed uncompressed on a monitor.

So don't worry about the 1440 x 1080 native CCD resolution, that should be the last thing on your mind. There are many 1920 x 1080 native cameras which are much poorer quality & give far worse results, even with the higher native resolution.
Alex Lafkovici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2011, 02:55 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Entebbe Uganda
Posts: 768
Re: Basic query on XHA1s res

I have not heard of anyone capturing to a nanoflash using a component to sdi converter, but it must be possible. I am pretty sure I have heard of people capturing the component signal direct to a laptop using Blackmagic or Matrox breakout box.

These XHA1's are still great cameras, that L series lens is phenomenal, and is the main reason those cameras are still so popular I guess.
Simon Wood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network