Premiere export problems with XHA1s at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2011, 04:00 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London
Posts: 24
Premiere export problems with XHA1s

Hi guys,

I've had this problem for ages but just can't seem to work out what's wrong... any advice for what I should try would be very welcome indeed...

Shooting with XHA1s in 50i then importing to Premiere. Sequence settings are:
HDV 1080i
25 fps
HD Anamorphoc 1080 (1.333)
Upper Field First

I am then editing everything and exporting via the following settings:
Format: MPEG2
Preset: 1440 x 1080i 25 High Quality
PAL, Quality 4, Upper MPEG, 383 kbps, 48 KHz, 16 bit, Stereo VBR, 1 Pass, Min 4.00

Use Maximum Render Quality is ticked


The problem I'm having is that 9 times out of 10 my finished video (always around 3 minutes long with music) will jerk/glitch 2 or 3 times in the video (very noticeable rather than subtle). I keep tring exporting and it glitches in different places, until eventually (sometimes after10 attempts) I get one that's smooth all the way through.

I think my PC is sufficient... Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 @ 2.66Ghz with 8GB Ram. Windows 7 64 bit.

Does anyone have any ideas for what I should try next to resolve the issue?

Thanks in advance everyone, Jimmy :)
James Fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2011, 03:37 PM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,627
Images: 18
Re: Premiere export problems with XHA1s

Hi, James..............

Well, I think you can toss the A1s out of the culprit list, this has to be PC related somehow.

(If it had anything to do with the A1s or the i - link, it would glitch on the way in as well)

Usual suspects: Virus software, background app of some description, faulty or under rated power supply, overheating cpu, bad memory stick.

Terminate your broadband link if you have one, disable your virus software after that, hunt down any other background app that shouldn't be there.

If it still glitches, check the heatsink on your cpu, it could be clogged, insufficient or have a dead fan.

I am assuming, possibly incorrectly, that this "glitching" is reading/ playing back off the tape in the camera AFTER it's been exported?

I am also assuming that the original video DOES NOT glitch when played on the camera?

I think untill that has been confirmed I'll just hold it right there.

Chris Soucy is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:00 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network