Still displaying the icon tape dirty at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 29th, 2012, 09:06 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Still displaying the icon tape dirty

Hello,

I've had a message on my LCD, I have an XH A1 saying the heads were dirty. Cleaned the heads with a tape. The heads are fine and the cam doesn't seem to have a problem. I really can see the heads are fine. I don't have the red message coming up in the LCD anymore, but the LCD still displays the woman's head that come up when the heads were dirty. I believe my heads are not dirty. Does the icon needs to be reset?

You know what I'm talking about, it's a woman's head with a speckle in her hair!
Thanks
Larry
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2012, 04:10 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Re: Still displaying the icon tape dirty

Actually, after watching my footage on a high def 27 inch monitor, it's grainy all the time and the colors are wrong. Does it mean the heads are dying on me?
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2012, 08:38 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: Still displaying the icon tape dirty

Yo Larry, can't say I've ever seen a woman's head with speckle in her hair on my A1s.

Are you using a new DV head cleaning tape, the same brand as your DV recording tape?

Try a camera reset, check the procedure in your cams manual first tho.

If that doesn't fix things, enquire about sending it in to Canon for a service.

I doubt your heads are worn out, but are you the original owner and how old is your cam?

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2012, 11:55 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: Still displaying the icon tape dirty

Er, Larry.................

I think you can stand down from Def Con 6, at least from my investigation.

It would seem, from a thorough scrute of the manual with a very powerfull magnifying glass, that the icon you're seeing is actualy the one for having, however inadvertantly, activated the "Skin Detail" function as described on page 63 of the (PAL) manual, and again on page 72 with regard to "Custom Presets".

Quite what effect that would have on the other tones and colours is a mystery to me, but simply turn it off and you should be ready to rock and roll.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2012, 06:34 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Re: Still displaying the icon tape dirty

Chris,

Actually you're right! Yesterday I decided to ingest the manual and when I arrived at Skin Detail I thought, nah, don't need to look at that, and for some reason I decided to and...voila.
My problem is I have no idea how I could have turned that on. As a matter of fact I'm pretty sure I didn't. It's really a mystery to me how that icon appeared in the LCD.
But great, I'm back!
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2012, 04:13 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: Still displaying the icon tape dirty

Larry, well then, consider doing a full camera reset, especially if your A1 is over 2yrs old.

Follow the manuals instructions and note any custom presets you've installed, the reset will delete them and set the internals back to *factory fresh*
and you reinstal them.

If you use your A1 frequently do this every 12 months, cleans all the gremlins out :)

If your A1 does NOT have the free Canon replacement handgrip support, get them to update it ..
if you send it in for service.

http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/suppor...isSecure=false .... 6th article down the list.

That's a real plus when you come to sell the cam.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2012, 08:12 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Re: Still displaying the icon tape dirty

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Secrest View Post
Actually, after watching my footage on a high def 27 inch monitor, it's grainy all the time and the colors are wrong. Does it mean the heads are dying on me?
Not likely on a HDV camcorder. Grain usually indicates shooting in marginal light conditions, or gain being high. Poor light can also cause colors to be "off." Worn out heads will more likely cause digital block errors.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network