tapeless xha1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2013, 05:39 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 2
tapeless xha1

You can say that i am an advanced newbie so excuse me if this seems obvious to others. I have a six year old xha1 that i truly enjoy working with. thought about going tapeless with an fs-cf pro but when i called the guy at B&H he told me I would still have to run tape with it. Why?
Arnold Courtier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 06:27 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Re: tapeless xha1

Hi Arnold,

Welcome to DVi. I'm not sure about the FS-CF Pro but we had a discussion about another FireStore, the FS H200, and our members confirmed that you did NOT have to roll tape. The link to that thread is:

Firestore FS H200 and Canon XH-A1

You might poke around in that forum (FireStore) and find out some more info. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 07:16 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 2
Re: tapeless xha1

Thanks Chris. I knew it would be on here just a little behind the times
Arnold Courtier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 07:27 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bay City, TX
Posts: 225
Re: tapeless xha1

I recently bought a refurbished Datavideo DN-60 from Adorama and it works fine without tape. It's possible to record to tape at the same time, but since the Firewire port on my PC doesn't work and I'm too lazy to replace it, I go without tape when I use it.
Phil Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 12:20 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Re: tapeless xha1

Same story here - I was able to use the firestore with or without tape. I chose 'with' so I had a redundant backup, just in case. Usefully, even if you run tape as well, when the tape ends the firestore carries on. Great for conferences etc.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2013, 09:01 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 5
Re: tapeless xha1

I recently got an Atomos Ninja and just yesterday got a component to HDMI converter from Amazon that lets me run line out from my XHA1 component out using Canon's cable into the adapter and then into the HDMI port of the Ninja. Works like a charm! The cable (I don't have the part number with me) was $35 and the component to HDMI adapter was just under $50, both from Amazon. Even after the cost of the cable, adapter and a like new Ninja I have an excellent tapeless capture now for under $400! I figure it will give me a few more years of use out of my epic XHA1.

Good luck!
Jim Jordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2013, 01:36 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Re: tapeless xha1

<<I recently got an Atomos Ninja and just yesterday got a component to HDMI converter from Amazon>> Which converter did you buy, Jim? And did the converter you chose also carry audio? Thx ~ TW
__________________
Rule #1: Don't sweat the small stuff. Rule #2: It's ALL small stuff!
Terry Wall is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network