Which one would you buy? - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


View Poll Results: Between the XH G1 and XH A1, which one would you buy?
XH G1 for $7000, because I need the pro jacks and SDI. 40 10.00%
XH A1 for $4000, I don't need those pro jacks nor SDI. 360 90.00%
Voters: 400. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 30th, 2006, 09:36 PM   #91
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Washington D.C. Metro Area
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Shaw
I don't think a laptop setup would be capable of capturing uncompressed HD at the full 1.5 Gbps data rate, but you might be able to capture to something like the Cineform Prospect HD format. The next question would be whether there would be any way to fit an HD-SDI connector to a laptop; if not then a small "Shuttle" style computer would be a more suitable option.
Well I am bored and found this interesting, so here I go rambling on.

To expand on what Kevin said, the reason a laptop can't handle uncompressed HD is the disks are too slow. WAY too slow.

The Expresscard slots are definitely fast enough to handle HD-SDI Dual Link or pretty much anything you could have done with PCI-X cards. Whether or not anyone actually does it, who knows. My guess is no, because laptops would need a second PC Expresscard slot with Fiber channel going out to a fast RAID array. By the time you include this array... well you don't really have a portable setup anymore, so why bother with the laptop.

The same goes for small "Shuttle" computers and Mac Mini's... they just can't handle the disks for this application.

Take a look at the Wafian HR-1, which can record compressed Cineform 10bit video data. It has 4 500GB drives in a RAID 10 or RAID 0 configuration. Of course that's presently $17,000 USD.

Alternatively take a look at an Apple XServe which can handle two PCI Express 8X cards and has storage for up to 2.25TB. Add in a Blackmagic or AJA I/O card and fill it up with drives and RAM and you have a nifty solution that should handle uncompressed 10 bit HD - just barely. (190MBps for sustained read/write on a 3 disk RAID 0) While its a bit of a kludge it is certainly cheaper than the Wafian solution.

It'll be a while before we get uncompressed HD on anything truly mobile.

The Cineform codec is a good example of a system that might get into laptops soon with a RAID 0 setup. (using two laptop drives) I like Avid DNxHD better which for a 10bit 4:2:2 profile which requires 28MBps. We can do that today in a laptop. The next step is to use native HDCAM SR in a 10 bit 4:4:4 profile which runs at 440Mbps (55MBps), which leaves us back at the RAID 0 laptop. A single desktop SATA can barely handle HDCAM SR... of course I am talking about the 10000RPM Raptors, so a RAID 0 of two or more should do it readily.

I mention being able to "barely" capture some of these systems. I mean that I am assuming contiguous capture on a nearly empty drive so we get nearly optimum sustained write performance. You certainly can't count on that being the case- especially not on a laptop where you typically have only one drive available for everything- but its theoretically possible.

Well I don't know that I have anything insightful at all to add other than blabbering the obvious... so I'll quit for now.
__________________
Alexander Ibrahim
http://www.alexanderibrahim.net
Alexander Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2006, 12:31 PM   #92
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Guildford UK
Posts: 18
A1 v G1

I use an XM2 which does everything i need. I film mostly Horse shows, Dressage, Jumping, That sort of thing for family and some commissioned work. Mostly hobbyist,some movie of the grandchildren. You know how it is.
Going HD is a WANT thing. Its the A1 FOR ME. Now, where can I pawn my soul?
Trevor Bray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2006, 10:31 PM   #93
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor Bray
I use an XM2 which does everything i need. I film mostly Horse shows, Dressage, Jumping, That sort of thing for family and some commissioned work. Mostly hobbyist,some movie of the grandchildren. You know how it is.
Going HD is a WANT thing. Its the A1 FOR ME. Now, where can I pawn my soul?
If you buy one, come on down to Wellington, Florida and make a mint shooting polo and other horse events.

hwm
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 12:41 PM   #94
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Guildford UK
Posts: 18
Great idea Heath. The UK's biggest Polo fest happens just 20 miles from my home. Better go and get some shooting practice.
Trevor Bray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2006, 11:09 AM   #95
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Cool, hope to see you here some day!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2006, 09:54 PM   #96
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
i was gonna pre-order mine

but BH stopped processing orders until tomorrow night.

=\
Dean Digamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 06:58 AM   #97
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 123
The poll says it all. I do some multi-cam from time to time and still would consider two A1's before one G1. I'm so used to sync up manually anyway.
I have a XL-1 so for very critical stuff like drama I can use the SDI out in a one-cam setup.

I think it's great though that we now have a line of three cameras to choose from with the same great image.
Kristian Indrehus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2006, 08:42 PM   #98
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 11
A1 all the way. It's the best option for a psudo-starving college kid like myself.

Letting those of you know who are having trouble with B&H that I just pre-ordered mine through Scott Cantrell (a DV member) at Tapeworks.
Michael Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2006, 02:01 AM   #99
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor Bray
I use an XM2 which does everything i need. I film mostly Horse shows, Dressage, Jumping, That sort of thing for family and some commissioned work. Mostly hobbyist,some movie of the grandchildren. You know how it is.
Going HD is a WANT thing. Its the A1 FOR ME. Now, where can I pawn my soul?
If that's all you do and you want hd you should get an fx1 or fx7, what would you need 24p for?
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 01:08 AM   #100
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NY, US
Posts: 102
The lens is pretty impressive on both of these bad boys(A1 & G1); finally!!! I saw manually controllable iris opening. If you ask me, it was long due…
G1 for me
Vic
Victor Burdiladze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 02:29 AM   #101
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
I don't get your post Victor. We've had manually controllable irises for very many years on Canon camcorders.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 06:47 AM   #102
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Hardwick
I don't get your post Victor. We've had manually controllable irises for very many years on Canon camcorders.
What Victor meant was probably a manual iris RING, which wasn't on the CAnon camcorders, exept for their 14x manual lens.
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 06:59 AM   #103
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
I wouldn't call it a "Manual" iris ring...

I am sure it is electronic with those stupid "Non existent" ends... however, it is in a better place than the click wheel on the XL2
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 07:33 AM   #104
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
I expect no better control from it than from the one on the body of the XLh1. However it's location will make it a lot more convenient and it may feel smoother. Still, in the end I expect the same outcome in the footage.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 11:57 PM   #105
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NY, US
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Hardwick
I don't get your post Victor. We've had manually controllable irises for very many years on Canon camcorders.
Tom, the posts after yours pretty much clarified what I meant, but I'd like to further stress that it is very convenient (for me, anyway) when the iris is controlled directly from the lens ring and not from the small click ring on a camcorder. On xl2 it is rather inconvenient, and on xl-h1 it's little better, but, in my opinion, not good enough.
Vic
Victor Burdiladze is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network