Portable solution for that amazing SDI out? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 29th, 2006, 01:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 122
Portable solution for that amazing SDI out?

Anything in the works thats portable that can suck up the uncompressed stuff? (firestore on steroids? smart, really fast hard drive?)
Jack Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 04:39 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF, Ca
Posts: 421
We're all looking bro. Perhaps Canon would like to come out with their own product so they could sell a few cameras...
__________________
Michael Struthers
www.buzzdigital.com
Michael Struthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 04:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF, Ca
Posts: 421
FS-4 Pro HD?
__________________
Michael Struthers
www.buzzdigital.com
Michael Struthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 07:12 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marin, CA
Posts: 85
HD-SDI Recorder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Struthers
FS-4 Pro HD?
Probably not. A single, IDE based drive won't support the 1.5 Gbps data rate of HD-SDI at 1080i. Most film companies use either RAID arrays or a tape solution. You could use a Sony HDCAM HDW250 field recorder.

PAul
__________________
Paul
Paul Matwiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 11:08 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 122
mini raid

What about some sort of intelligent enclosure, housing 2 drives (LACIE makes a terrabytye drive that is essentially 2 500 gb drives hooked together, kind of a mini raid, all you really need is 2)?
On that note, it seems like they could even make a raid from the tiny firestore drives, it would be a little brick, and it wouldn't be as stealthy as the normal firestore but it beats dragging a full-size raid around or a laptop or both.
Jack Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 11:10 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 122
yeah, the um HDW250 is um $42000 retail. uh-huh....
Jack Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 06:50 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
you could rent it?
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 07:13 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Delfzijl-Netherlands
Posts: 33
Can somebody tell me what HD-SDI means Standard - Definition - ........
And what is so special of this format ? Does it means you can shoot uncompressed so outher solution for Mpeg2 or DVpro ??
Can FCP-5 work with HD-SDI ??

Thanks anyway
Cengiz Ozgok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 07:58 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Lothian - Bonnie Scotland
Posts: 51
High Definition - Serial Digital Interface. :)
James Lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 08:12 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Cengiz

HD-SDI isn't a format it's a transfer medium, like fibercable or firewire. Or to eb more specific the interface is that way. It's kinda like a spicket to a hose, this spicket allows for a lot of water (information) to get through the hose (cable) so that there is more to work with on the other end.

oh, even better, firewire is kinda like the spicket running to your garden hose, HD-SDI is like a fire hydrant.. does that make any sense?

If you have a capture card with an HD-SdI port then you can take the information directly uncompressed intio your computer but it will be a lot easier to work with if you have a little bit of compression (like cineform or dvcprohd or whatever).
__________________
I have a dream that one day canon will release a 35mm ef to xl adapter and I'll have iris control and a 35mm dof of all my ef lenses, and it will be awesome...
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 09:30 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Timonium, MD
Posts: 142
I'd venture to guess someone (someday) can come up with a portable raid device using those new SAS, Serial Attached Scsi, drives that have rotational speeds up to 15K and are only 1" thick. Two of those could fit in something about the size of a firestore and would still be cheaper than P2 cards. (I guess)
Jeff Krepner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 10:24 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: paris
Posts: 289
Using a simple laptop like a tablet PC? As Cineform RAW since it is available now from the Silicon Imaging offer?
Mathieu Kassovitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2006, 02:14 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany / Denver, CO
Posts: 137
Mathieu, did you mean a laptop equipped with an HD-SDI interface and doing the Cineform compression software only? I guess this would have to be a quite powerful laptop then... but could work!

This looks quite promising:
http://www.vydeo.com/products/EC34.html

Using this with a powerful enough notebook to directly capture to Cineform from HD-SDI. However the question would be: price of notebook+HDSDI vs. price of standalone HDSDI cineform capture device (to my understanding this is in the works?)
Soeren Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2006, 09:52 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warren, NJ
Posts: 398
My plans are to build a PC. Right now you can get Core 2 Duo processors for under $400, 750GM disks for around $400. Add a motherboard, memory, video card (nothing really that special), a capture card. If you need RAID 0 its not really a problem, since all of the high end motherboards (I would use a DFI) have RAID on board. For a case I would use an Antec LanBoy, which is lightweight and compact all aluminum, and even comes with a carrying strap (intended to go to LAN parties.) You will also need a monitor, keyboard, and mouse. It would be nice if DVRack worked with the capture cars, but I don't think it does. Does the Canon remote control software work with the capture cards?
David Ziegelheim is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network