Canon Frame mode - which NLE's support it? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 8th, 2006, 04:22 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 993
Canon Frame mode - which NLE's support it?

Which NLE's are currently supporting Canon 24F? I have read that the latest update for Final Cut supports it. But what about Xpress Pro, Vegas and Premiere? I am eager to find out.
Floris van Eck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2006, 10:15 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 614
Adobe has a 24F preset you can download for Premiere. It allows capture and edit, but no output to tape in 24F.

Don't know about the others...
Philip Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2006, 11:32 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Avid -- not yet. However, Edius from Canopus / Grass Valley was the first NLE to support 24F.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2006, 12:22 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
Apple Final Cut Pro version 5.2 is working beautifully with Canon 24F for me.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2006, 06:20 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Don't forget FCP will actually output 24F natively back to tape. True 24p sequences back to tape.

It's actually FCP 5.1.2 that has 24F support, currently.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2006, 09:18 PM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
We just did the 5.1.2 upgrade, and yes, it does support it.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2006, 11:09 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 88
30f?

What about 30F ???
Paul Chiappini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2006, 11:12 PM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
No 30F support just yet. I'm sure it's coming, but it's just late, like everything else.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 04:06 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 993
Ok, can Adobe Premiere / Sony Vegas 24F support expected? I believe Adobe has 24F support but cannot be transported back to tape at this time?
Floris van Eck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 07:31 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 157
Gotta love FCP! Sorry dont mean to start a NLE flame war.....Feel sorry for the xl h1 users who had to wait though. But I am also working with a HVX and the update to FCP has made the p2 workflow so much better.
Noel Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 02:35 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 295
Gotta love how the MBP's don't have a pcmcia slot.
Gene Crucean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 04:22 PM   #12
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Noel, how do you handle archiving with P2? In other words, how do you file your "original tapes"? Or, what medium do you use for that purpose, I should ask.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 02:21 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 993
Vegas and Premiere?
Floris van Eck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 10:26 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barlow Elton
Don't forget FCP will actually output 24F natively back to tape. True 24p sequences back to tape.
Damn, it would be nice if Vegas did this for my Sony Z1. Would love to go mac and FCP, but man, the cost of entry...
Robert Kirkpatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 11:06 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Kirkpatrick
Damn, it would be nice if Vegas did this for my Sony Z1. Would love to go mac and FCP, but man, the cost of entry...
Get a basic G5 and the software and you're good to go.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network