hard drive recording unit for XH A1? (like Sony's HVR-DR60) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 30th, 2006, 03:54 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
hard drive recording unit for XH A1? (like Sony's HVR-DR60)

Is it possible to get a hard drive recording unit for XH A1?
(like Sony's HVR-DR60 for the HVR-V1U)

Thanks! :)
Tim Spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 05:05 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Hi Tim, again:

1. I think the Sony will work with other cams, check their specs again, but may have problems with some of the specialty formats.

2. Also, Google Firestore, and CitiDisk.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 05:36 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
Fire Store just came out with a compatible drive.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 07:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 213
Has anyone checked out the Focus FS-4 Pro HD recorder? I just received an email from Focus Enhancements (www.focusinfo.com) and it lists the .m2t format and the Canon XL-H1 as compatible. Wouldn't that mean the XH-A1 as well? Says the drive uses the firewire for direct capture. Anyone tired this product?
__________________
Lyon Films www.LyonFilms.com;
Devon Lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2006, 05:34 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
The FS4 HD does indeed work with the A1 totally tapeless if desired- with remote triggering too!
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2006, 05:45 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
hi steve: so does your FS-4 HD then work with both the A1 and also your FX-1? is it compatible with both units? i was looking at the new Sony direct-to-disk, but i would like one unit to work with both a G1 and the FX-1....
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2006, 06:24 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Hello Meryem (it's been awhile), well here's the deal- the FX-1 will work with the FS-4HD but only manually. This means you'll have to press the "Rec" button on the FS-4HD unit itself- it wont trigger from the FX-1's "Rec" button as normal. But that's assuming you want a totally tapeless workflow: if you want to record to BOTH tape and HD you can indeed trigger the FS-4HD to record via the FX-1's "Rec" button if a tape is in the FX-1 and you chose "Synch" mode on the FS-4HD! It works very well.

There's a slight catch to this workflow: It records the HDV as a native M2T stream which means you'll have to transcode the files to something your NLE can edit with (HDV for FCP users and ?? for PC users)- so In a way it sorta defeats the "time" benefit of a tapeless workflow as no NLE's I'm aware of can work with native M2T files. These M2T files are quite large and take longer than realtime to transcode (at least on an Intel iMac) so while there will be no batch capturing necessary- you'll need to convert those files- it's a no-win situation right now for HDV users of the FS-4HD.

However- this is assuming you're using a FS4HD.......the "Pro" version can be ugraded to make the hi-def video into a "format native" HD file such as HDV for Mac users and whatever PC users use- making it true drag and drop ready to edit! This is the "Pro" versions only- so check with Focus Enhancements before you buy to make certain it meets what you expect.

~~ Note: the Sony version which was just released has these same issues- the FX-1 CAN'T trigger it without a tape inserted and it produces M2T files! So no tapeless workflow is possible with the FX-1 and that Sony DTD unit. The smaller V1U (something like that??) WILL work tapeless as Sony put whatever "DV-out" command via Firewire that the unit recognizes and will indeed work w/o tape inserted- and triggers from the camera's "Rec" button! ~~

The best solution is the FS4HD Pro with the "Upgrade" for native HD...they cost a bit more but are the only tapeless workflow that actually saves time and has a degree of ease-of-use for NLE use. FE just released some new versions of which I am not aware of the specs- give their site a once over at the newer units to see what they offer.

The Canon XH's work PERFECTLY in a tapeless workflow as they can trigger the FS4HD (and Pro) via the camera's "rec" button w/o tape necessary!

Hope this helps.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2006, 06:48 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
yes, very thorough and helpful, thanks for the info!
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 09:07 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 206
I'm curious, M2T files pull right in to my Premiere Pro 2.0 without any conversion. Why do people keep mentioning a conversion?

I have yet to try importing an m2t file in to FCP, but I will try this week.
__________________
www.CodemanStudios.com
Cody Lucido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 10:02 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Let us know what happens when you try it with FCP.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 01:03 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nantucket MA
Posts: 82
Steve can you capture "24f & 30f" in the Quicktime HDV on the HD-FS4 "Pro"?
Jay Stebbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 01:19 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
Liquid can also import native m2t files. I download m2t sample files here on dvinfo and they work great in Liquid.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 04:24 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Jay, you can capture 24f and 30f in M2T format only. Only the FS-4Pro can do native HDV format- wether they can do the 24/30f modes are unknown but I'd guess they could.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 04:32 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody Lucido
I'm curious, M2T files pull right in to my Premiere Pro 2.0 without any conversion. Why do people keep mentioning a conversion?

I have yet to try importing an m2t file in to FCP, but I will try this week.
I think they are worried about editing in Native HDV. There are a lot of threads on the issue of loss of original information when editing, due the the nature of the beast. Thus, the people that want to edit in a lossless codec like Cineform's codec, will still have to convert after transfer to their system.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 04:37 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Just tried importing M2T files into FCP and it says they're "unrecognized" and don't import at all....they'll need to be converted.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network