Coming out of A1 via component video - Page 6 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 19th, 2008, 10:32 PM   #76
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Originally Posted by Will Griffith View Post
Actually..we are both wrong. :)

The Decklink HD is 10bit 4:2:2

Mondays... :)

So when using component out from an XH-A1 is it worth it to go with 10-bit 4:2:2 over 8-bit 4:2:2? I mean if I'm going to go through all the trouble of external capture, why skimp on the last two bits?

I realize this is a very subjective question, but would love to hear people's opinions.

Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 02:28 PM   #77
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,508
Originally Posted by Daniel Browning View Post

Sergio already corrected you, but I wanted to add that I *wish* that's how it worked. There is no technical reason that manufacturers have to compress live footage to HDV when sending it out via firewire, but they all do it, and none provide any other option. HDV only uses 4.5 MB/s, while firewire (400) has the capacity to carry much, much more data: 48 MB/s. That's not enough for uncompressed 4:2:2 1080, but there are a lot of options. In any case, it would compete directly with ultra-high-margin HD-SDI, and they would need to find a codec that's light on the camera's tiny CPU, so it will probably never happen.
Pardon me for jumping in on a discussion between much more knowledgeable guys, but isn't this all why some folks buy an XH-G1 rather than an A1 - to be able to access and record/save uncompressed footage? I thought that ALL the outputs from an A1 were either compressed or D-A converted or both.

* Didn't notice or read the next 2 pages of posts on this thread - sorry.

Last edited by Colin McDonald; January 20th, 2008 at 02:38 PM. Reason: Failed to read through whole thread before posting :-(
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 03:20 AM   #78
Regular Crew
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 55

I agree with you--that's precisely why we got the G1 instead of the A1--we use the HD SDI to the AJA IoHD, then into a MacBook Pro laptop and save to an external eSATA RAID1 enclosure (via Express34 card). Allows "uncompressed" capture (we actually use ProRes422 HQ, the quality of which is apparently on par with uncompressed.)
Jim Press is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 02:32 PM   #79
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 300
A1 component capture (IOHD) vs HDV for Green Screen?

I have access to an A1 and an IOHD, and am curious if anyone has found a real working benefit to capture off the component out of the A1 versus pulling the key off the HDV footage. I understand the color space ramifications of each, but wonder if it really makes much difference real world, or vs. something like the G1 or H1 with HD-SDI out.

Or if anyone in the Austin area has an G1 or H1 they would like to loan out for a day...


Compositing is my life right now.
IMDB page:
Austin Meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 06:34 PM   #80
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 27
Capturing uncompressed off of component on xh a1

Does anyone know if the component output on xh a1 is not sure how to say but has not gone thru hdv compression and is uncompressed like the hdsdi on xh h1 or g1. I was thinking of putting a component to sdi converter (either blackmagic or aja) then feeding the sdi signal into macpro with kona lh. I know lh has analog inputs but have read that its better to go into it sdi, plus the advantage of longer cable runs. If it is not any better quality by going to sdi thru converter is it at least better quality compared to hdv. Has anyone done any tests to compare live capture off of hd sdi off of g1 vs component on xh a1. I now should just get g1 or xh h1 but for the price can get a1 and macpro or even iohd. Plus already have 2 a1s.
Luke Garza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 09:46 PM   #81
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Check out this thread. Clearly, even though the A1 does a good job with Greenscreen in HDV, component output makes for really clean comps.
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 01:23 PM   #82
New Boot
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 8
I've been looking for info on this exact subject., re composite vs firewire capture.

I have the XH-A1 (which I love dearly) and am trying to find a way to get the absolute best captured footage out of it for a project I've currently got going. For this project the camera is locked down in an overhead rig shooting straight down. We don't need sound for it (I usually record sound separately anyway and sync in post), just the clearest richest image we can get under controlled studio lighting.

I have tried capturing directly from On Location via firewire straight to disc, but the footage seems to be exactly the same as that captured from the tape via firewire, which makes sense to me.

However, we're using a 24" Samsung HD touch screen monitor as the preview monitor for the shoot, (the same monitor that this particular interactive HD application will be ultimately delivered on), to get the focus as sharp as humanly possible. We're going into the monitor via component for the preview.

One thing I noticed is a very big increase in the overall visual quality of the signal on that monitor when viewing via component. Colors are richer and more realistically saturated, and strangely, the focus is much more sharp.

When I capture the footage via firewire from the tape, it's noticably duller, on the grey side, and slightly fuzzy, like it's a bit out of focus. Still don't understand the drop in focus though. Why would that be, other than I really may not have had it in focus to begin with; but I had two other sets of sharp eyes to confirm the focus on the monitor.

But hooking the component outs from the camera to the component in on the same monitor at the same time I'm looking at the captured footage in Premiere Pro CS3 shows that same taped footage looking pretty much exactly like it looked when we were monitoring it live. I'd like to be able to deliver that better looking footage as our end result (h.264 full 1080p at a data rate of 10-12Mbps or more), if at all possible.

I'm about to buy a Xena LHe and Cineform Prospect HD in the hopes that I can get the very best out of the camera, since it looks like I might be doing a lot more of these interactive HD projects in the near future.

The increase in complexity and time for the component workflow is not a deterrent to me. Ultimate visual quality is the goal. Even if I had the XH-G1 I'd still have to have a similar capture capability and workflow for the digital SDI footage, correct?

Eventually we'll most likely go to the RED in the future, but that's a whole other story.

Actually, I wonder if there is anyone in the DFW area that has a Xena setup like the one I mention above. I'd be more than willing to pay for the time it would take to capture a test of our latest shoot (approx. 3 minutes) so I can do some more R&D. If anyone has or knows someone locally with such a rig, I would greatly appreciate contact info.

DVinfo is a fantastic educational resource and it has taught me so much. But I've got a long way to go before I understand all this as deeply as I need to.

Thanks for any input from any of you knowledgable types out there.
Doyle Calvert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 01:39 PM   #83
Obstreperous Rex
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,736
Images: 513
Hi Doyle, I searched the XH A1 forum for all of the threads I could find which discuss component video capture and have now merged them into one large discussion. You had posted to our XL H1 forum and I have moved your post to this thread since you have an XH A1. Please review the entire discussion thread thread here. Thanks in advance,

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 02:43 PM   #84
New Boot
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 8
Thanks Chris. You're certainly on top of things. I saw my post show up someplace I didn't put it when I went back to the XH-A1 forum and wondered how that happened (still a newbie on these fine boards).

I've been reading that very interesting collection of threads you put together. Very useful. Much appreciated!
Doyle Calvert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 08:47 AM   #85
New Boot
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 15
Don't know if this really answers any questions, but I found this ( ) to be a great option.
David Del Real is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 12:02 PM   #86
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658

this is interesting -
would it allow for HD 4:2:2 recording?
it shows a full res capture preset...

if you record through the SDI would it record HD
it states 1024 video

John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 12:16 PM   #87
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Amersfoort, Netherlands
Posts: 85
To me it looks like it does only SD.
Winfried Dobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 12:20 PM   #88
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
So close...
and yet,
so far
John Benton is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network