Audio Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2006, 07:27 PM   #1
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 795
Audio Question

My camera will arrive by weeks end. I always review the manual prior to a purchase of a camera. The manual is not clear to me in regards to audio channel operation.


Can I place a shotgun on Channel #1 and a Wireless Mic. on Channel# 2 or do I have to reconfigure same like my XL-2? I do understand that the on-board mic. is seperate and the XLR menu must be activated.

Thanks,
LOU
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 08:34 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Yes you can... your only challenge is where to put the wireless receiver. Shoe mount? Bracket 1?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2006, 08:11 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
The XHA1 comes out of the box set for the built-in microphone. You have to go into a menu to change it to the xlr input.

Once you've done that, there's a actual physical switch near the xlr inputs to either feed channel 1 into both channels or split channel 1 and channel 2.

There are also switches for phantom power, attenuation, and line-in (affects both channels.)

The Bracket1 bracket fits on the XHA1 fine to hold your wireless.

chuck
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2006, 10:12 PM   #4
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 795
Thanks guys...................

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Fadely
The XHA1 comes out of the box set for the built-in microphone. You have to go into a menu to change it to the xlr input.

Once you've done that, there's a actual physical switch near the xlr inputs to either feed channel 1 into both channels or split channel 1 and channel 2.

There are also switches for phantom power, attenuation, and line-in (affects both channels.)

The Bracket1 bracket fits on the XHA1 fine to hold your wireless.

chuck
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network