Camera not working! - Page 8 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 30th, 2008, 02:58 AM   #106
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pembrokeshire, Wales
Posts: 734
A few years ago I sent my XM2 back to Canon for repair, when it came back to me nothing worked. Eventually I discovered that Canon had moved that switch to standby.

And they had the cheek to tell me they could not replicate the original fault - the zoom wouldn't work consistently. Unfortunately sometimes it would work for several hours of recording, and at others would zoom out when it felt like it, and you had to wait until IT was ready to be zoomed in again. Eventually it stopped zooming completely, and I could only use it as a fixed wide angle.

And yes, I have managed to knock the switch to standby on the A1 - took a few minutes of methodically checking everything until I found the problem.
__________________
Canon XH A1; Canon XF100; Nikon D800
Annie Haycock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 02:59 AM   #107
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
My XH-A1 wouldn't fire up some time ago, and it turned out to be bad contact of the battery. I took the battery out, put it back in and it worked again. The spring system, pressing the battery against the contacts, is not 100% reliable, apparantly. I wonder what will happen when the springs loosen up...
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 03:50 AM   #108
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pembrokeshire, Wales
Posts: 734
I've had that problem once, too.
__________________
Canon XH A1; Canon XF100; Nikon D800
Annie Haycock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 03:12 PM   #109
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Same here. Just take out the battery and put it back in. That only happened to me one time and it's been fine since. Same thing happened with the power supply--it's a little tricky to get it properly seated.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 11:01 PM   #110
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 241
Good Lord...

This just had me spazzin out for the last 30 minutes. Glad it happened tonight and not at a shoot. Now I know!!! That is a really bad place for the lock/standby switch.

and this was just after my PC wouldn't start earlier tonight. Turned out it was just a loose DVI connection...OF COURSE AFTER I went out and bought a new video Card thinking I had fried my 8800GTX.

Anyone wanna buy a slightly used 8800GTX? :(

Uhhg and it was such a great day too.
Brad Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 11:51 PM   #111
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 773
Worst failure I ever had?

I assembled my own PC from scratch, so I felt pretty confident about the ins and outs of it.

Except... it's very easy to mess up the firewire installation. I was one jumper pin over...

That turned the "transfer data" wire into the "O HAI I WILL GIVS YOU ELECTRICITY!" line. I literally -destroyed- an HV20 back when the HV20s were going for $1100. (I also destroyed an iPod I had for years and really liked.) Luckily, the HV20 was still under warranty, and I was able to get a replacement..
__________________
Equip: Panny GH1, Canon HG20, Juicedlink, AT897, Sennh. EW/GW100, Zoom H2, Vegas 8.1
Brian Boyko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 05:08 PM   #112
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
XH-A1 Died!!!!

Hi, I'm hoping I'm just being an absolute moron (definitely been known to have been one from time to time). I've been away on holiday for the last 16 days, just tried to switch on my camera (which was at home the full time I was away) and nothing. When I turn the power dial anti-clockwise (VCR functions direction) it switches on and functions fine. When I turn the dial clockwise towards the recording function, absolutely nothing.

The camera is literally a week short of 13 months old, not excessive use at all, in fact pretty mild use (less than 40 hrs on the record head). Has anyone else experienced similar, am I panicing and perhaps missing something obvious. If so please point out because this is doing my head in thinking about it.

Thanks in advance

John
John Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 05:25 PM   #113
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC Area.
Posts: 550
If it is what I think it is you will laugh.

This is what happened to me
I tried to get my A1 to turn on, I spent hours looking up why it wasn't turning on, how I could get it to work, etc. I pushed every button, I tried different batteries, with tapes with out tapes, etc.

Where the record button is there is a little standby switch, I had just barely bumped that so it wasn't entirely facing the correct direction and because of this, it wouldn't turn on. Make sure that switch is correctly aligned with run mode and then try to turn it back on. If it still doesn't function, check back with us.

Louis Maddalena
Louis Maddalena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 05:33 PM   #114
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
I'm not sure whether it's a chuckle or an embarassed laugh, either way Louis thank you, you've saved me from a long sleepless night (it's 11.30 pm here in the UK)

Thanks again

John
John Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 05:48 PM   #115
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rossland, British Columbia
Posts: 965
I wonder how many of the Canon engineers laugh til they split their sides every time they read a post describing exactly this problem. I too have fallen for it!

Bryce
__________________
There's never enough hours in the day!
Bryce Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 07:45 PM   #116
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryce Comer View Post
I wonder how many of the Canon engineers laugh til they split their sides every time they read a post describing exactly this problem. I too have fallen for it!

Bryce
Me too...right before a shoot. Fortunately I figured it out in time, but I was scared!
David Sotar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 07:57 PM   #117
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 160
It happened to me too!
Erick Munari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 11:14 PM   #118
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Merged together a bunch of "camera not working" threads... classic standby / lock confusion.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2008, 10:46 AM   #119
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
That's a much better heading than camera not working, since it's an operator problem.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2008, 02:02 PM   #120
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Noosa Queensland Australia
Posts: 236
I use this switch all the time. Great function. When I'm doing a shoot I tweek my settings then switch to standby until I'm ready to roll.

I don't recall ever flicking it over accidentally, but regardless, once you know it can happen, it's no longer a problem, surely.
Bill Watson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network