Matte Box + AF<>Manual<>AF at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2006, 01:52 AM   #1
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Matte Box + AF<>Manual<>AF

Having seen where a matte box fits, could somebody try this out WITH Auto (PUSH) Focus <> Manual Focus? Please?

TIA - Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 07:51 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 157
Im using a mattebox though all my focus is manual.
Noel Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 08:05 AM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Understood. But CAN you momentarily apply AF? Once applied can you go BACK to MF? I do this with my Manfrotto 521Pro LANC. I'm wishing to know if using a MB does it get in the way of AF?
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 08:05 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I think Grazie is asking for a test, from somebody who has a matte box on their XH (Noel?). It seems that the Push AF button uses the Instant Autofocus feature; at least that's what we've heard. Obviously the I.AF feature is disabled whenever a matte box or other lens attachment blocks that sensor . So the question is, with the I.AF sensor blocked by a matte box, what happens when the Push AF button is pressed while the camera is in Manual Focus mode? My guess is that the Push AF button reverts to Normal AF if the Instant AF is unavailable. Who wants to test this?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 08:06 AM   #5
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Thank you Chris! My Hero!! Exactly that.
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 09:06 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
I think there might be a way to assign a custom button as a toggle for the standard autofocus. That may be the solution for those wanting to use a matte box or wide angle lens. I wonder if there's a way to re-assign the Push AF button.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 11:06 AM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Noel, what mattebox are you using?
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 03:20 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 173
To ask the Q again:
If you block the Instant Autofocus sensor (with a mattebox or test it with some tape), what is happening with the Push AF button?

The autofocus is using two sytems:
1) Distance reading with the instant autofocus sensor
2) and then with the second autofocus system.

What is happening if you block the IAF sensor?

What happens when the Push AF button is pressed while the camera is in Manual Focus mode and the IAF sensor is blocked??
Raymond Toussaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 04:27 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 157
Ill check it out this morning and report back. Im pretty sure though the IAF does not work with a mattbox attached, however the AF does.
Noel Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 04:59 PM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
It's established that I.AF does not work with a mattbox attached. The only question is, how does that affect the Push AF button.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 10:58 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 157
I can verify push AF button works with mattebox. Ill post a 3-4 second clip later... setting up for a lit shot atm.
Noel Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 02:02 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 173
So then it is using the 'classic' AF system that remains operative, thanks for now!
Raymond Toussaint is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network