A1 XLR -> 3 meter cable max??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2006, 08:21 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 213
A1 XLR -> 3 meter cable max???

I am going through my XH A1 manual and it says for the XLR inputs "use no longer than 3 meter (9 ft) XLR cables to connect your microphones".

3 meters??? What's up with that? I regularly used a 15 ft XLR cable with my GL2. Is this another one of those 'manual things' that I should just ignore or is this for real??? Am I really limited to just 3 meters of XLR cable? Thanks.
Deke Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 08:53 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 206
I guessed I missed that one. I used my ME66 on a 20' XLR for a recent shoot and the audio was excellent.
__________________
www.CodemanStudios.com
Cody Lucido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 08:54 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke Ryland
I am going through my XH A1 manual and it says for the XLR inputs "use no longer than 3 meter (9 ft) XLR cables to connect your microphones".

3 meters??? What's up with that? I regularly used a 15 ft XLR cable with my GL2. Is this another one of those 'manual things' that I should just ignore or is this for real??? Am I really limited to just 3 meters of XLR cable? Thanks.
Yeah, I would just ignore that...
Bennis Hahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 09:53 AM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Yep, that's BS. I've run around 100' of audio cables from mic to camera with no trouble. I can't imagine why the A1 would be any different from any other camera in that regard.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 10:58 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 213
Good... cause I hadn't run a long XLR run yet and didn't want it to blow up if I did an inch over 3 meters :)
Deke Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 02:49 PM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Heheh...well, the basic rule of audio and video cables is to not use any longer cable than what you need, but it has nothing to do with the camera.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 03:07 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
What about the on-camera phantom power? Would it affect this?
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network