Harddisk for XH-A1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2006, 04:46 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 64
Harddisk for XH-A1?

Thanks for all the great info here. For the new Sony HDR-V1 and HDR-FX7 there is a harddisk that you can use instead of tape. What are the options on Canon XH-A1?
Erik Palm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2006, 07:16 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Among many Hard Disk Recorder options for the XH A1, there's the FireStore FS-C. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 02:21 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
Am I right in thinking that the Firestore FS-C is simply a Firestore FS-4 Pro HD with a Canon specific mounting kit?

Can I use an FS-4 Pro HD with an XH-A1? (The FS-C doesn't seem to be available over here in the UK) There isn't anything else that's missing is there? It's not totally clear from the Focus Enhancements website...

Thanks
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 03:06 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Alex- yes u can--- with both SD and HDV! Even the regular FS-4 will work!
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 04:14 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 64
price? robustness?

Thanks for your replies.

How much does this harddrive cost? And how robust is the fitting on the camera? Anyone with experience?

Regards Erik
Erik Palm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 04:21 PM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Eric, have you clicked the FS-4 banner ad at the top of this page? The banners cycle through several different ads and the FS-4 is on one of them. You can learn a lot just by clicking on it and going to the product page (and no, I don't earn money "per click" on the banners, but they are there for you to use). See also our dedicated FireStore discussion forum for even more information. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 05:09 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Nunez
Alex- yes u can--- with both SD and HDV! Even the regular FS-4 will work!
Thanks Steve for clarifying that.
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 05:23 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Harvard, MA
Posts: 155
Fs-4

The FS-4 will work with the XH-A1 only for DV, not for HDV. However, the FS-4 can be upgraded to the FS-4 HD - which then allows m2t recording. If you want (as I do..!) to capture with the QT HDV codec, then you'll need the FS-4 Pro HD, or the FS-C with the firmware upgrade..
I spoke with Focus Enhancements this afternoon and had all of this explained to me...
Kindest regards,
Ross.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ross Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 07:13 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 49
Alex is correct. The FS-4 ProHD and the FS-C are identical machines, The FS-C simply ships with a Canon specific mounting kit. Matt McEwen from Focus Enhancements verified this in another thread:

http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.ph...highlight=FS-C

I was going to buy an FS-C, but after having a difficult time finding a dealer that carried them and after learning that the other model is compatible, I purchased the FS-4 ProHD instead. I haven't received it yet but when I do, I can post a report on my experiences if anyone's interested, though I'm pretty sure other users have already done so.
Juan Diaz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network