Small bug in the firmware: -40 in Custom Presets at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 30th, 2006, 07:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 161
Small bug in the firmware: -40 in Custom Presets

I have just noticed a small bug in the firmware. Value of -40 is displayed incorrectly as -30 in Custom Presets' -50..50 parameters.

Internally it seems to be OK (as -40), but the system displays it incorrectly.

Could you folks confirm if you see the same problem?

Looks like Canon will now have no choice like to release new firmware and also include OIS control under Custom Keys and CVF/LCD image flip :)
Bogdan Tyburczy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2006, 10:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 52
Yep mine does it too. Any preset that can be set to '-40' displays '-40' as '-30' so when you decrement the value you see ...-38 -39 -30 -41 -42...

[and don't forget the selectable (non-color-bar) function for the color-bar switch!]
Steven Glicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2006, 10:41 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Well now we know what the first firmware upgrade is going to cover, heh...

Maybe we can petition them for adding an OIS switch function to the Custom Keys?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2006, 02:07 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Coalville America
Posts: 244
I would love an ois switch. I need an ois switch. PLEASE......

I would like many more small changes to firmware but the ois seems necessary.
Holly Rognan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2006, 04:24 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Where do we sign for the OIS switch?????
Sign me up!
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2006, 06:21 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 614
OIS would definitely be very useful.
Philip Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2006, 08:06 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
Where do I sign?
Why can`t we have image flip on LCD? I really-really don`t know.

T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2006, 09:01 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
...
Maybe we can petition them for adding an OIS switch function to the Custom Keys?
I've contacted Customer Support already and mentioned that plus also possibility of CVF/LCF image flip in the menu. They promised to forward my message to higher level.

I'm sure they would have listened much harder if we had submitted group petition. This bug seems easy to fix, but OIS with Custom Keys and CVF/LCD flip are also doable.
Bogdan Tyburczy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 04:34 PM   #9
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Maybe we can petition them for adding an OIS switch function to the Custom Keys?
Ressurecting this thread just to point out to all the A1 / G1 owners that the Sony HVR-V1U camcorders have an OIS on/off selection option included in their User Buttons (Custom Keys). Anybody feeling left out?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 06:17 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Ressurecting this thread just to point out to all the A1 / G1 owners that the Sony HVR-V1U camcorders have an OIS on/off selection option included in their User Buttons (Custom Keys). Anybody feeling left out?
I would like AE Shift to be an option for external control like it was on the Z1 with the silver knob. On the Z1 I could select IRIS and use the knob for compensation. I would also like 1/2 or 1/4 stops on the shutter speeds.
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 09:51 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 173
I hope we can agreed on the most important issues we want in an update, otherwise I think Canon never fullfils the wishes. It's Christmas!
We need to make a form.

Most important to add is:
- combined Zebra and Peaking information
- OIS switch function to the Custom Keys

To repair is:
- Value of -40 is displayed incorrectly as -30 in Custom Presets'


(The image flip is something the sony and panasonic can't do either so that is not so 'normal' to have around.)
Raymond Toussaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 10:26 PM   #12
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
The only serious thing missing from the camera for me is the OIS switch. I would really like that. All else is secondary. Maybe Chris can collect all these comments and forward them?
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 10:53 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
My shutter speed defaults to 1/25s in Tv mode, rather than remembering the last setting. I wish Canon would fix that. Agree about the OIS though.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2006, 04:30 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Maybe we can petition them for adding an OIS switch function to the Custom Keys?
And they should not forget to add an audio limiter/soft-clipping switch in the audio menu!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Hunter
My shutter speed defaults to 1/25s in Tv mode, rather than remembering the last setting. I wish Canon would fix that.
I second that! By the way: A 1/50s shutter default (25F mode) makes much more sense to me.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network