Custom Presets Download Library Feedback - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 11th, 2006, 08:34 PM   #31
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 916
The stills (with metadata) option during recording should prove a great tool for DP's who want to make sure cameras are using the same presets for given shots. Hat's off to Canon on that one. I've read the manual a few times now, and there's still a lot to learn (and remember).
Dennis Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2006, 11:15 AM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Awesome thread here Chris.

Hey, I tried downloading the excel file but it keeps bringing me to the log in page. Is the link messed up? All of the other links work for me but not that one.

Richard, Thanks for the "live" version of the presets. It's perfect and will be extremely helpful!
__________________
.
www.itchyhousefilms.com
Jay Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2006, 11:23 AM   #33
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Strange -- it shouldn't do that. When I click on it, a File Download options box opens (MSIE 6.0).
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2006, 11:46 AM   #34
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Strange -- it shouldn't do that. When I click on it, a File Download options box opens (MSIE 6.0).
i've had the same happen in the RED thread awhile back except it was an image that I was clicking on. It kept taking me to the log-in screen even though from the thread I was linking out of, I could see that I was logged in at the upper right.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 10:14 AM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
Chris:

As an H1 owner thinking of adding the XH G1 to his kit for synched multicamera shoots,

I am curious as to how you converted the H1 presets for emulation on the A1 and G1... were there some set criteria that allowed this conversion or was it a tedious trial and error to emulate the H1 preset look to match on the A1/G1?

Thank you for posting these preset emulations.
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 10:51 AM   #36
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi John, that's an excellent question. I answered it at great length in this thread:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=81457

Please direct any replies over to that discussion. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2006, 10:52 AM   #37
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon, CA
Posts: 3
These look great. Would love to try but I'm having the same prob of redirecting to the login page when trying to download. Runnning Mac/Safari.

Thanks!
Lance Alton Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2006, 11:04 AM   #38
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Very sorry, I have *no* idea why that would be happening. I'll send them to you via email.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2006, 07:14 AM   #39
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 173
Problems with downloading the files in Explorer, need to log in everytime?

You need to set the Tools >Internet Options> Security to Medium and Privacy> to Low.

After I did that, I had no problems anymore.
Raymond Toussaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 06:36 PM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 100
Sorry to ask what seems to be obvious to everyone else, but how to I transfer these presets to the SD card in the first place? My computer doesn't have a slot for the card.
Larry Kamerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 06:43 PM   #41
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 9
Larry - You need a card reader/writer to do this. They can be had for from $15-$25. They plug into a USB port and then are used just like another Drive.
Dick Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 08:55 PM   #42
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 100
Thanks Dick. Any recommendations?
Larry Kamerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 09:46 PM   #43
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 9
I just bought one from Wal-Mart ~$19. Make sure that the one you get will read/write SD cards. Some readers are specific to one type card only while others will read/write to up to 20 or more different card formats (multiple card slots).
Dick Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 08:14 AM   #44
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Manchester CITY
Posts: 31
I'm sorry to bother you guys with this but I'm having trouble understanding the whole downloading PRESETS. I've inserted my SD Memory Card (came with Camera) into my computer, opened a new folder and named it PRESET.
I've then downloaded the Spreadsheet with all the various numbers etc..
Thing is I'm not sure where to go from here. Do I just send the spreadsheet to the PRESET folder in my SD Folder, or do I need to do something else? I can not get my head around what I'm savingon the card. Is it just the spreadsheet? I tried this, and the opened the PRESET folder I created and the spreadsheet XL icon shows. I close that down, insert SD card into camera and try to locate the presets.....I can not.

Am I way off here? Should the spread sheet show up as it has in my PRESET folder?

Sorry again for being so inept.
Will Aldersley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 08:30 AM   #45
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 9
Will - You need to download each individual preset file then transfer those files to the PRESET folder on your SD card.
Dick Graham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network