A1 and the letus35A at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2006, 10:14 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
A1 and the letus35A

Ok, so here are 2 indoors tests I did with the XH-A1 and the Letus35A.
Technical information:
- Shutter 1/50
- 25F
- Iris f2.0
- Lenses Nikon 50mm f1.8 and 28mm f1.8

http://rapidshare.com/files/6614892/...us35A.mpg.html

http://rapidshare.com/files/6617051/...5A_BW.mpg.html

Tomorrow Iím going to try to duplicate these exact same shots using the A1ís stock lens.

P.S Ė Iím having problems with my monitor. Stuff shows up ok on premiere and then it looks different in some other media players. I really donít know what is right and what is wrong. Some places it looks overexposed and some places it looks exposed just right. I canít really tell what will show up for you guys (the heavy mpeg2 compression doesnít help either).

P.S#2 - I hate using 35mm adapter indoors!
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 10:30 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 293
Links don't work... :-(
Peter J Alessandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 10:39 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Does anyone know what is the best way to post large files without loosing too much quality to compression? I see Disjecta posting 3 minute HD quicktimes that are like 60mb. Whenever I try something like this I end up with a 300mb monster file. So I end up having to post crappy DIVX that are not really worthy of evaluation.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 10:42 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter J Alessandria
Links don't work... :-(
I just tried them right now and they are working. When you click on it it redirects you to another link where you have to choose between "free" or "premium". You click on "free" and then you'll see a clock going backwards with the remaining time it will take for you to receive the file.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 11:22 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael Lopes
I see Disjecta posting 3 minute HD quicktimes that are like 60mb. .
Recently, I see he (Steven Dempsey) was posting in Windows Media high definition files, that looked tremendous. So he is evolving things. On the PC side, I know I got better renders of Quicktime files by using the Quicktime Pro upgrade.. Never have been able to do anything decent with the Premiere Quicktime renders. Always got a washed out look. I tried uping contrast with some success, and I am sure the guys that do this regularly have learned a trick to do it....
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
I'm using premiere pro. I'm trying to export a quicktime file now but it always looks more pasty than the original file. I read around the forum this is common issue. i'm trying different codecs to see what can be done.

The problem with windows media is that not everybody will be able to see on the internet.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 01:15 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Non color corrected HDV version right here:

http://rapidshare.com/files/6639182/...us35A.wmv.html

Sorry, mac-dudes...windows media.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 04:27 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 204
Man, Rafael, that's too close! Love the wide-angle in your corridor though. What kind of lenses do you use (especially in the last shot)?

Steven
Steven Fokkinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 05:01 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
the Lenses were a Nikon 50mm f1.8 and a 28mm f1.8. If the weather is good the day after tomorrow I'm planning test the A1+Letus outside...where it usually displays it's best results.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 10:26 PM   #10
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Can you get rid of the corner vignetting?
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 03:03 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor
Can you get rid of the corner vignetting?
About that, I don't if it was too dark for me to notice it or it simply didn't show on the lcd. I only saw it on the pc. Actually if you display the footage on a tv screen you won't see it.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 03:03 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
double post
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 04:05 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael Lopes
I just tried them right now and they are working. When you click on it it redirects you to another link where you have to choose between "free" or "premium". You click on "free" and then you'll see a clock going backwards with the remaining time it will take for you to receive the file.
Hi Rafael. I don't see the backwards clock, just this message and a table of charges:

"You have reached the download-limit for free-users. Want to download more?"

Nothing against your video, which of course I haven't seen, but I'd rather not pay to download it, thanks.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 04:12 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael Lopes
About that, I don't if it was too dark for me to notice it or it simply didn't show on the lcd. I only saw it on the pc. Actually if you display the footage on a tv screen you won't see it.
Doesn't the A1 have underscan on the lcd?
Steven Fokkinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 05:38 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Hunter
Hi Rafael. I don't see the backwards clock, just this message and a table of charges:

"You have reached the download-limit for free-users. Want to download more?"

Nothing against your video, which of course I haven't seen, but I'd rather not pay to download it, thanks.

Richard

That is really weird. I just clicked the link right now and it gives me the option to download for free or to create an acount.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network