Should the 'Power Dial' be like this? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 10th, 2006, 04:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 51
Should the 'Power Dial' be like this?

The XH A1 is my first Canon camera so I'm new to the 'Power Dial'.

On my XH A1 I'm surprised at the lack of precision in the selection of each option on the dial. It feels 'rubbery' and even when clicked on a particular position, it's possible to rotate the dial a little and select the next option without actually 'clicking' into the position. So I find I'm constantly checking the LCD or viewfinder to be sure I'm in the mode I initially selected.

Not having anything to compare this to, I'm wondering if this is normal on the Canon 'Power Dial'?

Thanks.
Robert Esmonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2006, 05:22 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 117
I'm new to it too. Mine has an audible click going into each selection. It isn't hard to change the selection but it feels stiff enough not to accidently bump it to easily. I haven't had any such incidents and don't expect to. No idea if your's feels the same or not. I'm guessing there isn't another one around you could compare it to?
Wade Hanchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 03:19 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 68
Mine clicks into place and I haven't had a problem with it accidently switching to a different setting.
Kevin Myhre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 05:41 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 51
My dial does click into each selection, and most seem fine but in the first 'Auto' position it's possible to get the next ('TV') setting on the display by moving the dial a little but without engaging the next 'click' setting. And generally the dial does not feel precise the the way it engages each click stop.
Robert Esmonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 05:56 PM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Robert, are you being careful to press the small grey button on the edge of the power dial as you turn it? That button is the lock on the dial. If you're turning the dial without simultaneously pressing that button, then you're forcing the dial to rotate against the lock, which could account for the strange behavior you're experiencing with that dial.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 08:10 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 51
Thanks Chris.

Yes I am using the 'Power Dial' lock button to release the dial. I've tried again and again now and the 'feel' of the dial is terrible - no sense of the precision one expects from click-stop adjustments.

However , most of the positions, though 'rubbery' in feel, work fine even though they all have an arc of movement anticlockwise and clockwise even when selected. The big probem is with the 'A' setting. When moved anticlockwise it will select the next 'TV' mode without being clicked to the next 'TV' click-stop. I'm just trying to find out if this is typical for the XH A1 before I contact Canon about it.
Robert Esmonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2006, 11:51 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 19
Mine works fine.
Steven Rupert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 12:18 AM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Robert, what you're describing does not sound at all typical to me.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 04:28 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 51
Thanks everyone for that useful info.

I'll bring my camera back to the dealer and see if I can do a side-by-side comparison with another A1.
Robert Esmonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 05:13 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 51
Just to wrap up this thread, I brought my camera back to my dealer and compared my dial to a brand new XHA1. No comparison. The new one was positive and clicked securely into each position. So he replaced my camera.

End of 'Power Dial' click stops problem.

Thanks to all who offered their help.
Robert Esmonde is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network