Recording with 2 mics at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 20th, 2006, 09:12 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Guarda, Portugal
Posts: 119
Recording with 2 mics

Hi everyone.
Anyone knows if it's possible to record with the built in mic and another one at the same time with the A1? It seems every time i connect the XLR mic, i get no sound from the built in one.

Thanks.
Luis Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 09:22 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Luis,

The XH G1 and A1 camcorders can record two channels of audio. The built-in mic is a stereo mic, therefore it always requires two channels, leaving no other channels available for other mics.

When you connect an external mic to one of the XLR jacks on the camera, you're using one of the two available channels, leaving only one additional channel free. Since the one remaining channel isn't enough for the built-in stereo mic, the built-in mic is disabled as long as the other mic is plugged into the XLR jack.

To put it another way, using the built-in stereo mic plus another mic at the same time, would require three audio channels and only two channels are available on the XH A1. This is different than the XL H1 camcorder, which allows for four-channel audio recording. On that camera, you can use the onboard stereo mic plus one or two additional mics. That's one of the advantages that the XL series camcorders have over the XH series. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 09:30 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 195
i dont know why you would want to use the onboard mic for the exception of run and gun close interviews.

The onboard mic picks up all the mechanical noise from the front lens.

Just Get you 2 mics and 2 c stands or 2 assistants
Jason Strongfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 10:53 AM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
If you need a camera-mounted mic for recording, say, ambient SFX, get a short shotgun and mount it with the included mic mount. I use an old Sony mic off a retired Betacam camera for that purpose.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 12:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Guarda, Portugal
Posts: 119
Thanks for the input. I thought the camera supported more than 2 channels of audio.
I shoot weddings and i wanted to use the camera's mic to record the ambient sound in the church and the other mic it would be a wireless one to record B&G. Using a shotgun mic is not an option because i would get the signal in mono and i wanted stereo for the ambient. Mono ambient sound sucks big time... (OK, i could use a stereo mic, but that way i would loose the other channel again...).
I guess my only option is to record the B&G separately to my laptop and synch the audio later.

Thanks anyway.


EDIT: Thinking again, maybe i could mix all the channels outside the camera on a mixer and feed the camera with the mixer output.
Luis Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 12:45 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 161
Luis -

I would suggest getting small digital recorder like M-Audio Microtrack 24/96 or Zoom H4. Recording events, you could connect it to main soundboard and enjoy full freedom with the camera, or set it up in some safe spot to record backgrounds and do everything else with the cam. It may be used in many ways depending on what's available on location.

It is extra cost, but you will find such recorder priceless in many situations and often more convenient than mixing live audio. It's better to record on separate tracks and do the final mix in post.
Bogdan Tyburczy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 02:24 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Guarda, Portugal
Posts: 119
Thanks for the suggestion, but for multitrack recording i rather use a DAW with my laptop. I'm a Protools user, and i know my Mbox only has 2 audio inputs, but i rather spend 700€ on the new Mbox 2 pro with 4 inputs than 500 € on the Microtrack.
Luis Rolo is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network