XH Custom Preset Tuner Tool - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 1st, 2007, 07:46 AM   #31
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Theissen
i will do when Marty tells me that he has tested the presets in the camcorder...
I am kinda secretly beta testing it for him....shhhhh.......
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2007, 08:23 AM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 451
Felix

Thank you for an excellent tool.

I don't want to spend a fortune on the Canon Console software, not to mention it is not available for the Mac, but your application with a bit of visual feedback to show what the settings are doing on a "standard" picture I would more than happy to pay you for it. I suspect other people would be willing to pay as well. It would speed up the production of presets no end.

Well done for providing a very useful tool to the community.

Cheers

TT
Tony Tremble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2007, 08:43 AM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik
I am kinda secretly beta testing it for him....shhhhh.......
Hello Marty,

if you feel uncomfortable, please donīt do it.

But if someone wants to use it - be sure to download the latest
version 0.5.2 beta of the apps.
They should be now safe to not produce faulty presets
when you open a totally wrong file and save it then.
(Try to make it idiot proof. At least I hope it)
The mac apps had defintely a bug where the value of the noise reduction 2
could be wrong - high setting could change with low or vice versa.
Maybe play around (open and save) with the custom presets you know already,
before using in the camera. I did and have not expected this NR 2 bug.
I donīt know what happens if you would try to put a text file of your
word processor on the sd card and try to read it in the camera.
I think the camera would refuse to load it, but may be it
shuts down forever. Donīt know, but maybe someone from Canon could
say.
Anyway the version now should be better than the one before.

Felix
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2007, 08:54 AM   #34
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Theissen
Hello Marty,

if you feel uncomfortable, please donīt do it.

Felix
Oh no....I am completely comfortable with it. I was just teasing around saying that! No worries. I just haven't had an extra 5 minutes these last 2 weeks.

Marty
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2007, 09:04 AM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Tremble
Felix

Thank you for an excellent tool.

I don't want to spend a fortune on the Canon Console software, not to mention it is not available for the Mac, but your application with a bit of visual feedback to show what the settings are doing on a "standard" picture I would more than happy to pay you for it. I suspect other people would be willing to pay as well. It would speed up the production of presets no end.

Well done for providing a very useful tool to the community.

Cheers

TT
Thank you, Tony.
I think this visual feedback is a thing which would take time i never
will have. To calculate some numbers in a 40 byte file when you
know the file structure is a different programming task then producing
some realtime image manipulation.
Well in the moment I try to finish what i started with these little apps.
I am in writing a screenplay and sometimes i like to challenge my
brain with logical exercises.
And when i was looking for an affordable camcorder for a project i
came across this great XH A1.
But you are right it would be good to see what the changing of the presets
values do to an image in realtime.

Felix
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2007, 08:09 PM   #36
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Felix,

I finally got a chance to test this and I have some bad news regarding the XL-H1 editor. The editor works and lets me manipulate files.....but when put on the memory card and then put back in the camera, the H1 just ignores these. I have other presets that I downloaded that do work, but as soon as I open in your editor and rename the preset, it no longer loads.

Any ideas?

Marty
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 04:26 AM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
Marty,

it would be great if you could send me the file you did with the editor and send
me the same preset file generated with the camera (same values), then it
should be no problem to find the fault.
my email: felix.theissen at freenet.de
(you have to put that emailsign were the at stands)
Thank you for the help and testing.

Felix

p.s i assume you tried the right one - the XLH1 Editor not the XH Editor
Until i found the bug i took the XLH1 Editor download files from the website
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:55 AM   #38
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Felix,
It was definitely the XL-H1 editor. I am at the office right now and I don't have the SD card with the presets I made. I will try to grab them from home shortly.

Marty
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 08:10 AM   #39
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
Marty,

was it the windows or mac editor?

Felix
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 08:18 AM   #40
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Theissen
Marty,

was it the windows or mac editor?

Felix
It was the windows editor and I just sent you 2 preset files to review.

Thanks
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 10:23 AM   #41
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
To everybody who downloaded any windows version of XH Editor or XHL1 Editor
from my website, please don´t use them any further. They had a bug which
would make a preset unreadable for the camera if you use anywhere in the
sliders a value of +1 and safe the preset with editor app.
New window versions (0.5.3 b) are on the website.
I am aware that the mac versions won´t allow a space in the internal
preset name. I will change that in an update for the mac version soon.
But remember everything is still beta software.

Felix

Edited: new mac versions 0.5.3 beta which allow spaces in the internal preset names are online

Last edited by Felix Theissen; February 2nd, 2007 at 11:07 AM.
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2007, 12:51 PM   #42
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
I don't have a card reader yet, but when I connect my A1 with firewire, the "Canon Camera Storage Device" appears in My Computer, with the PRESET folder accessible for reading the cpf files. Why is that I cannot write to this folder? It would make saving presets so much easier! And what's strange, I can delete files in the PRESET folder; just no writing permission. Is it just me?

Of course, Console 1.1 can export any preset do the memory stick via firewire, so it's not a hardware issue.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive

Last edited by Piotr Wozniacki; February 4th, 2007 at 01:50 PM.
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2007, 03:33 PM   #43
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
Hi Piotr,
did you try to copy one of the downloaded presets from the presets library
of dvinfo to this memory device?
(or did you try to copy one of the presets generated from the windows
XH editor? If yes, be sure to have the latest version 0.5.3 b, because the
windows XH editor earlier to this version could produce presets, which would
not be recognized by the camera).
Or may be itīs not possible to copy directly without console. I donīt know.
I canīt match your setup because in the moment i am without the A1.

Felix
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2007, 03:42 PM   #44
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Felix, it seems no file (regardless how generated) can be copied to the card over fiwi - but then, I have the Console and its drivers installed, perhaps this is the reason (as I said, Console can export presets to card just fine).
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 02:57 PM   #45
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
custom settings: color matrices

Can anyone explain the theory behind all the color matrices (R-G Matrix etc), in layman's terms?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network