XH-A1 Outputs? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 4th, 2007, 05:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 58
XH-A1 Outputs?

I'm new to the forum, so I just have a quick question. Just purchased the XH-A1 and don't see an S-Video out. I sold my GL-2 and upgraded to the new HD camera. On Canon's website, it says the XH-A1 has an S-video output. Note: http://www.usa.canon.com/app/html/HD...ications.shtml

I've tried doing a simple capture using the composite video and a very cheap "Dazzle" to USB adapter, but it looks like junk! The video I've captured using the old GL-2 and the S-video connection looks 10 times better to me.

Any thoughts, advice? How are you guys capturing? Are you capturing component? Unfortunately, my laptop does not have a firewire input, or the IEEE plug.

Am I out of luck for capturing and editing good quality video? What about the BNC output on the side - is it compressed output just the same as the composite out, or does it have better quality? Your help and advice is greatly appreciate to a newbie in the HD world!

Regards,
Billy Griffin
Orting, WA
Billy Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 06:16 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Billy. When you record to tape, the camera has already carried out the A/D conversion and compression stages, so what is on the tape is digital data. It just degrades the video quality to output as analogue and then capture back to digial in the computer, unless you use component out and high end video capture hardware.

A PCMCIA firewire card for your laptop should cost around $30, so I would strongly urge you to make this small investment. Using firewire, you copy the digital data from the tape onto your hard disk, without any loss in quality. This is one of the huge benefits of digital video technology, so it makes sense to take advantage of it.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 08:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 58
Thanks Richard! I just realized on my commute home that my son's laptop, a Sony Vaio, indeed has a firewire input. I captured some video on it, and it's AMAZING !!! Wow, what a difference! Capturing composite video with that Dazzle unit looked literally like cell phone video. Yuck! Capturing via the firewire cable, it looks awesome - amazing clarity and that real HD look!

Sounds like I need to invest in the PC card with Firewire input, huh? I have Pinnacle Studio 10, nothing near as good as most of you are using, but at least with capturing digital and keeping it that quality all the way through, I should be able to get some decent clips edited together.

Again, thanks for replying. I was beginning to wonder if anyone would answer. :-)
Billy Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 08:35 PM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Billy, a PC card with FireWire is worth its weight in gold -- and not very expensive. Should be pretty easy to find too.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 07:30 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5
so now that we've solved the obvious workflow problem, i'm still curious if the XH A1 does have an s-video jack since Canon is advertising that it has one...

steve
Steve Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 08:40 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Must be a misprint, cuz I looked all over and can't find one.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 11:06 AM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
There is no S-Video jack on the camcorder but I'm pretty sure I know what they were thinking when they said that. You can get a different version of the triple-ring / tip / sleeve AV cable, similar to the one which comes with the camcorder (it has a 1/8th-inch plug at one end and three RCA plugs at the other). The other version of this cable has two RCA plugs and an S-Video plug. In fact Sony has this cable listed as an optional accessory for the HVR-V1U and HDR-FX7 camcorders, but any generic version of it will do.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 02:49 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CSL BCS MX
Posts: 67
The 3.5mm mini-jack on the A1 appears to be plain vanilla composite video plus stereo audio. Maybe there's some hidden Y/C in the jack that could be accessed with a special cable (other than the STV-290N that Canon supplies).

Maybe the 14-pin component connector has S-Video signals on it that is ignored when using the DTC-1000 RGB component cable??

There are transcoders that can take the component output, add subcarrier, and deliver S-Video, but nothing I've ever seen in a passive cable.

Go component, it's much better!
Jay Fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 05:41 PM   #9
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
The other version of this cable has two RCA plugs and an S-Video plug. In fact Sony has this cable listed as an optional accessory for the HVR-V1U and HDR-FX7 camcorders...
I made a mistake here... the cable that Sony has listed as an optional accessory does not have the three ring / tip / sleeve 1/8th-inch plug on it. Instead it has a proprietary 10-pin connector, and that's how they're getting S-Video out of the V1U and FX7.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 12:38 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 58
So is it a misprint then, or is there some type of special cable that can be used to get S-Video out of the Component Out plug (not likely)?

Anyone tried the BNC output on the side? How does it hold up with just standard composite video out? I don't have any type of monitor with a BNC input, so can't check myself.
Billy Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 02:31 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy Griffin
So is it a misprint then, or is there some type of special cable that can be used to get S-Video out of the Component Out plug (not likely)?

Anyone tried the BNC output on the side? How does it hold up with just standard composite video out? I don't have any type of monitor with a BNC input, so can't check myself.
Hi Billy. I use the BNC output with a BNC-RCA adapter, and just connect it to the RCA composite in on my monitor. It looks good, but I'd still want to use FW for capturing.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network