New A1 owner has questions =O at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 7th, 2007, 03:06 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UAE
Posts: 13
New A1 owner has questions =O

Right, I've been borrowing DVX-100a's from university for long enough so I went crazy and got me an A1. I'm having so much fun playing around with it even though I haven't really shot anything yet. I'm planning to work on my fifteenth short in a bit and just needed to get it on HD so here I am.

Now, I've been reading up on the forums here and I have a few questions.

1) Do I need Aspect HD to edit my movie on HD since I'm using Premiere Pro 2.0 or is there some other way around that?

2) I live in the Middle East, so I'm stuck with 25F... is there any way of getting around that and into 24F?

3) Can I shoot in any random DV tape, or is that going to compress the footage? Must I keep on using the same Canon HD-ish brand that came with the camera?

Yes, I know that I should've looked those things up before making my purchase. I appreciate any help at all anyhow.
Farid Alkhajah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 03:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 222
1) I'd suggest trying to edit the files as they come out of the camera. Then download the Cineform Aspect trial and edit with that. Then weigh the cost with the improvement.
(personally, I use aspect HD, it seems to be a whole lot better, but while trying the trial, make sure you begin by picking a Cineform Aspect 'preset' from your preset list, otherwise you won't notice the difference)

2) You can send your camera in and pay to have 24F capability unlocked. Go to canon support for details.

3) an random DV tape will give the same compression and quality. However, all DV tapes can have dropouts, higher quality tapes have fewer of them. In HDV, a dropout gliches .5 seconds of video. So I'd suggest quality tape, but you don't need HDV tape, I buy Panasonic AMQ master series and have not had any problems.

Good luck
Brent Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 06:10 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UAE
Posts: 13
Thanks, Brent. Looks like I'm gonna head off to have a chat with the Canon folk about getting that fixed. By the way, what does Aspect HD do? It just makes it "look" better?
Farid Alkhajah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2007, 12:51 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Why would you want to pay for a 1 frame difference? Unless you're going to film out (and even then most of the time) it's unnessary.
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2007, 06:54 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 157
Agree with Evan. Im using an NTSC cam on FCP, though I do need to output to 25p from time to time. So far havent had any issues just outputting on a 25fps setting.
Noel Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 03:34 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UAE
Posts: 13
So, no? Well, I dunno. I'm used to working in 24p... I was hoping that I would pick it up if it wasn't too costly.

Quote:
By the way, what does Aspect HD do? It just makes it "look" better?
...??
Farid Alkhajah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 03:38 PM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
About your tape question--you can use any DV tape, but it's best to use a good quality tape. I'm using Panasonic AMQ (Advanced Master Quality), and so far it's good.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 08:11 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Farid,
Exactly what Cineform does, I don't know.Compression without image loss? All I knoew is that without it, we were unable to do anything in PPRO.It was like snails in super slo mo.
Bruce S. yarock
www.yarock.com
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 09:01 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Cineform converts the HDV files into less-compressed (intermediary) files that are easier to play back on the editing computer. Because the intermediary files have less compression and greater colour space, there should be little or no visual loss due to the editing process. The drawback with Cineform is that you need to have enough hard drive space to cope with the huge files involved.

Another possible way to get a smoother editing experience is to use DV proxy files, but so far the only solution I've seen offering this (Gearshift) only works in Sony Vegas.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network